We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such Yummy Goodness!”

Cowboy Cookies N Grub
Ranked #12 of 12 Dessert in San Luis Obispo
Restaurant details
Modesto, California
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
“Such Yummy Goodness!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Three of us were dying to have an ice cream cookie sandwich here and we were not disappointed. The selection of cookies (and ice cream) was so appealing that it was difficult to make a decision. I finally decided on the oatmeal, rice krispie and coconut cookie with vanilla bean ice cream and since my sister also wanted this same cookie and they are so huge, we decided to split it. The cookies come either as a whole or a half and unless you are really hungry (or a big eater) you will probably want to go with a half, because the cookies are large and the ice cream in the middle is a large portion as well. You can also have a cookie that is formed into a cup shape in the bowl and then filled with ice cream. My cousin got the snickerdoodle cookie with mocha chocolate chip ice cream (half). The pricing seems fair for the amount and quality of cookie and ice cream you get. We ate outside in the pleasant courtyard. The cookie and ice cream were so good that I was moaning with delight. My sister and cousin also really enjoyed their ice cream sandwich as well. It is probably fortunate that I don't live close to here, because this is a place that I would want to visit frequently which would not be good for my waistline! Drop in here for a delicious dessert if you are in the area! The shop is located conveniently downtown in the main shopping area. (I believe this restaurant is actually on Higuera Street which is listed on their website as well).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best cookies anywhere”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I made my husband get off the 101 on our way back to LA from Santa Cruz, just to get a dozen cookies here. They are the best anywhere, so many varieties for such a little place. In LA, the best cookies are found at Diddy Riese but these surpass them. Yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Delicious cookies”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were walking around downtown and found this cookies place. Of course, you can smell it when you are near. We had a cookie cup with vanilla ice cream and peanut butter cookie! the staff is very helpful and friendly helping us choose the flavors of cookies. Gotta tell you, they are delicious! the peanut butter cookie is tasty and still warm. You gotta try their cookies.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maw0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Use to be good”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I use to love going to this place because the cookies were delicious. However, recently I feel that they aren't as good. My favorite cookie which was the white chocolate macadamia is now much thinner and instead of whole macadamia nuts which there use to be are now crushed up and you can probably count the number of tiny pieces in it. It's disappointing that the price is still the same but the quality of the cookie has gone down.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoubleTrouble1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“get the cowboy cookie sandwich”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

home-made ice cream between home-made cookies. a little more than the nestlé offering in the gas station display case … but then well worth the difference.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank johndoe-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboy Cookies N Grub also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cowboy Cookies N Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing