We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Ben Franklin's Sandwich Co
Ranked #162 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Soups
Restaurant details
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been going to Ben Franklins since they opened when I was a teen & I am now in my late 50's. It is consistently good, and they have their own style. They use fresh baked rolls, either wheat (my choice) or white. You choose small (about 8 inches), med, about 16 inchs, or large, about 24 inches. I like each section cut in half so it is easier to eat. They put shreaded lettuce on it, and the standard is a vinegar/oil dressing with pepper. You can also ask for mustard and/or mayo, but I don't. I like it the original way. They also have drinks, coffee in hot pots, soup, chili, chips (including locally made SLO Taco Works tortilla chips). They also put thinly sliced pickle and onion on the sandwhich along with the meat. I never get tired of it. Love it! Highly recommended. A small is enough for most people.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MOTHERLOAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I used to live in SLO County years ago, and I was sorely disappointed in Ben Franklins' this time around. Service seems to have gone downhill. Food was mediocre. Service was just okay-clerks seemed like they didn't want to be there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank binksmom92382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great go-to place for a good sandwich!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a great place. Don't just get a plain turkey sandwich though... try something with some flavor like the linguica, pepperoni or add the chipotle mayo! The brownies are awesome too. Parking can get busy, but something will open up quick. It's better than paying for parking downtown.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Smallest sandwich is too big. Menu confusing.”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

As the name says, this is a sandwich shop. The biggest down side here is the menu; it is hard to understand. You can't tell how big a sandwich is going to be or if different sizes are options. Same is true with their salad menu. Partner prefers their tuna salad. Be sure they cut it in half for you or you'll be wearing lettuce and fixings. I prefer their small salads. This is a hard place to find parking. We've passed it by after making a couple of trips around several blocks and not finding a place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pismomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLO
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“below average”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

finally decided to try this place, but was very disappointed. got a turkey sandwich, and i'll admit that it was very good sized, but there was hardly any meat and it was FILLED with shredded iceburg lettuce!! it was very plain and NOT my type of sandwich. but now my husband and i can occasionally joke about the lettuce sandwiches they have!

    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staysea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Franklin's Sandwich Co also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ben Franklin's Sandwich Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing