We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Let the Locals Pull You In”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tahoe Joe's

Tahoe Joe's
Ranked #20 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Locals Pull You In”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had just completed a wonderful visit to California's Central Coast, but a delayed flight caused us to spend an additional night in San Luis Obispo. Everyone we asked, at the airport, on a shuttle, in a hotel agreed that the best place around was Tahoe Joe's. I should have checked TripAdvisor !
Joe's is a formula restaurant - over decorated and overpriced - even by California standards. The steaks were all 'tarted up.' Even the house signature tri-tip (slow cooked, seasoned, then sliced) was dipped in butter before serving! WE asked for the simplest steak they had: The sirloins that were recommended to us arrived grilled exactly medium rare, but the meat had been so 'treated' and salty that we could hardly taste the beef.
The quality of the meat was good: it did not need all the marinating, rubbing and sauces that the restaurant is famous for. If you are looking for 'an honest steak,' look elsewhere. The staff was well trained and treated us very well, and the atmosphere, while wildly overdecorated, was pleasant. If f they could just offer STEAK, it would be a good place to enjoy beef.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baysil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    87
    43
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I spent a night in San Luis Obispo while going to San Francisco. We had dinner at Tahoe Joe's and it was a good choice. Nice option.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank asbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo, MT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All that's missing is snow covered peaks :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great restaurant!

This was our last night in SLO. Found Tahoe Joe's on TripAdvisor, read the reviews, decided to give it a try. We did not go wrong!

The aroma once entering this establishment is enough to start a tummy to grumbling. Yum! We were seated right away and our servers were prompt and pleasant.

I had the 10 oz prime rib with the rice pilaf and a side salad, my cohort had the ribs and railroad camp shrimp. We (well, HE) finished off with the skillet apple pie. Everything was fabulous!

Nothing bad to say about Tahoe Joe's!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianinMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food but pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Granted I was in town from the East Coast, but the prices seemed high to us. The food was decent and the service good, if a little slow. I'd go back.

Helpful?
Thank Bandit2Actual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Is a place to get good steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Everytime were going to San Luis Obispo this is the place to have good steak. Our service was Jilian she was amazing very friendly she make sure what ever we need she provide. My husband and I we love the food,service is excellent. Thanks Jilian you make our vacation good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Joe's also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Tahoe Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing