We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you can do better”

Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“you can do better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

bumped into this restaurant as we were returning to so. cal. nice looking exterior and interior. friendly service. that was as good as it got. this is the kind of "mexican" food that you'd find in the midwest, or texas. enchilada was more like a chessealada. brutal. carnitas- dry to the bone. menudo-straight out of a can. salsa was terrible. get a mexican chef to put this house in order. show some pride pepe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe32859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    27
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canned chiles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The waitress confirmed my suspicion that their chile rellenos are made with canned chiles. The rest of the food seems OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7230west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Level Contributor
355 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“USED to be one of my favorites!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants when we would go to San Luis Obispo but not after today's lunch. I asked for plain nachos (just cheese and chips) and to have the guacamole and sour cream on the side. Our waitress asked if I wanted a full or half order. I told her I wanted a half order and repeated "just chips and cheese". I got a plate of chips with cheese, beans, and the most jalapenos anybody could ever ask for. All I wanted was the chips and cheese with the guacamole and sour cream on the side. I also ordered an a la carte shredded beef taco. I ate one chip from the nachos (after picking off all of the jalapenos) and that one bite was nasty. I took a bite out of my taco and it just didn't taste right so took another bite. The second bite was just the same. My husband ordered a ground beef tostada and took one, maybe two bites and pushed his plate away and said he wasn't going to eat it because it was nasty. A young girl who appeared to be either the manager or hostess asked how everything was and my husband asked her if they have a new cook. She said no. I told her that we came there quite often and we always loved their food but not today. I also told her that I wasn't going to eat the nachos because I asked for chips with melted cheese only and got beans and way too many jalapenos. She just shrugged her shoulders and walked away. REALLY? We let our waitress know that we weren't satisfied with the meal and she apologized. I told her that it wasn't her fault because she didn't cook it. I was absolutely shocked that we were charged full price for what we ordered, what we complained about, and what we didn't eat. We won't go back. I'm so disappointed. That was a complete waste of money and I guess we should have gone to Taco Bell and saved $30. On a positive note, at least their margaritas were decent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My Favorite Mexican Restaurant in SLO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good food, good service, and good atmosphere. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys Mexican food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim1210_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The tortilla chips and salsa were average but the food was great. Only had Chicken enchilada ala' carte but was well prepared.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xybek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing