We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Run down”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The rooms are old and run down. Our A/C did not work and when we tried to call the front desk several times they didn't answer (in the middle of the day). The continental breakfast that was included could hardly be called breakfast. The only thing they provide was an orange juice drink , apples and some small Danish/muffins selection (almost tasted store bought although the package did say bakery). No coffee was provided and no place to sit. You had to take back to your room. There was a coffee maker in the room with pre-packaged coffee.

The good thing about it was they provided a microwave and small refrigerator. So you could provide your own breakfast if you planned ahead.

The worst part was we had to pay almost $200 for Sat night due to commencement at Cal Poly. Supply and demand I guess but we left feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    62
    83
    47
    42
See reviews for
81
92
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Finding a clean and good value hotel in SLO is a chore. Vagabond Inn fills the bill just right. Very close to great food and drink you will find this property a good fit. Close to Pismo and Avila Beach and Solvang as well.

Try it out next time you are traveling north or south on the Kings Highway (US 101). You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: I recommend going "up the hill" toward rooms 118 thru 128 for a restfull night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

good value for this area. Good firm beds, clean, good location close to many restaurants.
Thin walls, could hear our neighbors talking. Front desk was helpful with eating reccomendations.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TellurideRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Needed a cheap place overnight before exploring the vineyards in San Luis Obispo. It was some 15 mins drive to the closest vineyards (Avila beach or Pismo beach could be an alternative as they turned out to be closer to few vineyards). Paid $62 + 12% tax via booking.com. A decent price as it included free parking, wifi and breakfast. These are the standard facilities for similar chains.

There were plenty of parking spots so we could find one that's right in front of the room. Wifi was a bit slow but never failed to connect. Breakfast options were pretty bad; only sweet bread, muffins, banana and tea / coffee. No cereals, milk or juice. Instead, they offered 20% discount on the neighboring Denny's (but excluding the $2, $4, $6 options). We did make use of the offer and found the food decent. In fact, there were not many people appearing in the breakfast area adjacent to the reception. Some of them looked briefly at the options and disappeared, presumably to Denny's.

The motel looked just like one, but at least the room was clean and quite spacious. All the facilities advertised (tv, microwave, fridge, table & chairs, hairdryer, iron & board) were there and seemed to work fine. It's situated by the roadside but the rooms were further out behind the reception. Couldn't hear traffic much and no issue with noise in general. There was supposedly heated swimming pool, which was really tiny and next to the parking lot. Didn't see anyone using it.

Check in and out was quick, and the front desk guy was friendly enough. Compared to similar places I've been, this one was probably slightly above average. For the overall pleasant experience with the staff and facilities, and offer on Denny's. It's not a must to return to this place next time, but I wouldn't mind.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

the hotel is in a good location. it is a motel - not a ritz-carlton. however, beds had a very strong smell of urine. rest of the room and hotel is fine for price. management refused to do anything about smell - would not check room, would not send housekeeping, would not provide a different room, would not provide a roll-away. their answer - you am welcome to leave. However, every other hotel within 30 miles was booked for CalPoly Open Day. i have to sleep on the floor, and they refused any discount or refund.

Room Tip: choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We got a cheap rate through Hotwire, but I think we could have stayed at another budget hotel for the same price. The room was overall fine, a cheap motel room. It is nice that it is next door to the Madonna, if you want to go see it and get some cake or whatever. There is a Starbucks across the street, which is good because yeah, there is a coffee maker, but ours barely reached to the outlet and the glass part of the coffee maker was obviously for a different one so it did not fit properly to trigger the coffee to actually come out.
I checked in and a woman was working, she was super nice. Later there was a younger man and an older man working. On our third day of staying there our room keys suddenly stopped working, so we had to go to the front desk, and the younger man helped us get our keys back working (….by the way, it would be a nice gesture just to apologize to us for the weird inconvenience of having both keys suddenly stop working, but he just added another day like nothing was unusual). We mentioned that it would be really nice to have fitted sheets on the bed - the flat sheet tucked in just came untucked all night and caused us to sleep poorly. I don't want to sleep on a bare mattress in a motel, no thank you. He told us to tell the housekeeping that. First of all, that is your job, not ours, to tell your staff. Second, just put fitted sheets on the bed, we shouldn't have to ask for them and judging by the other reviews, you have heard this complaint before so just do it already.
I left a note for the housekeepers to please use fitted sheets, and when we came back later they had made the bed but not put fitted sheets on. This led to another night of terrible sleep.
Other than that, the room really did do the job, so we weren't that upset about it. When we were checking out, the man asked us how the room was, and my friend said (in a very friendly tone) "Mostly great, but fitted sheets would really be nice…" and halfway through her sentence he just started yelling over her "I told you to tell them to put them on so why are you now upset? You should have told them" and I cut him off and said that I did, and they did not (by the way, that's still something you should do sir, not us - customer service is not telling your customers to do it themselves when it is not for them to do). I started to mention the coffee maker and he started shouting again "YOU DIDN'T TELL ME ABOUT THE COFFEE MAKER SO HOW COULD I KNOW" and it was so weird and embarrassing - you asked how our stay was, I'm trying to give you some helpful tips, and you are shouting over me? The older guy was behind the counter too and seemed also to be embarrassed and was trying to quiet him down and asked for our room number so they could fix the coffee maker issue.
So bottom line is, my best friend and I live on opposite sides of California and want a good cheap place for girl's weekends - this place has lost our business because we were YELLED AT for trying to answer the question of how our stay was.
Our stay was fine. It would be better if you used fitted sheets and had a properly working coffee maker and oh yeah I forgot, if there hadn't been some random person's pubic hair sitting in the tub that we hadn't even used yet. Also if you hadn't yelled at us I wouldn't be leaving this review. Learn about proper sheets and customer service if you want to avoid further bad reviews from other people, because we certainly won't be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank im_elyse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've been staying at the Vagabond Inn, SLO, for years and it is a great place to stay in between San Francisco and Los Angeles. The property is well kept with a great Jacuzzi next to the pool. I really like the in-room coffee makers along with the microwave ovens and refrigerators. Vagabond Inns offer their "10th Night Free" program which is a nice perk. The Vagabond in SLO can be your best place to stay while visiting Hearst Castle, Morro Bay and Pismo Beach. Plus, every Thursday is Farmer Market night on Higuera Street in downtown San Luis. You'll be glad you picked the Vagabond SLO!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
393 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#23 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#28 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Property: Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Address: 210 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing