We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priced to meet our expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Priced to meet our expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We've been staying in various hotels in San Luis Obispo for years. On this stay, we waited until the last minute to book a hotel during Thanksgiving weekend and had a difficult time to reserving a room. The Vagabond had rooms available for $79 per night so we booked one. Pros: our room backed up against a mountain side and was very quite, the carpet appeared to be new, the mattress was very comfortable, we received fast and friendly service at the front desk, the room had a frig and microwave, the hotel is close to everything, we took advantage of the 20% discount for breakfast at the Denney's next door, and there was a coffeemaker in the room. Cons: lack of electrical outlets, we could not plug in the microwave due to the lack of outlets and a cord that would not reach the closest outlet, and the bathroom window had a missing glass louver that appeared to have been missing for quite some time. We stuffed a couple towels into the missing louver to keep the cold (46 degrees) air out of the room. In summary, the room was inexpensive for the area and mostly clean, but it needed to be better much better maintained. I doubt that we'll stay there again, even in a pinch

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA_Travel_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    58
    76
    47
    39
See reviews for
76
85
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Since I am usually just looking for a place to sleep and shower while returning from camping trips, my needs are basic. At the top of my price range, this, for me, is an excellent hotel. Staff is really informative and accommodating, bed was in good shape and comfortable, the bathroom clean (though the tub was missing a plug so only the shower was available). It is a little difficult to find the driveway but it only took one U-turn to get to it after I passed it (the sign is very visible but I thought the driveway belonged to the Denny's).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nubra_Floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosseto, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice place. The staff is very welcoming, the location is very practical (right out of 101), the room is clean and has everything we need. The hot jacuzzi is simply wonderful and open till 10 pm !! We still have to try the breakfast, but I wanted to write the review anyway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guybrush79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

For $72, I got a clean, comfy room, and seeing the hotel wasn't busy, I got a room set back away from the roadway and it was quiet and peaceful....the breakfast here ISNT..... Juice and packaged danishes and muffins are it but an IHOP and Denny's are on either side and a Starbucks, McDonald's and a Ralph's grocery store are directly across the street....all and all......a great value at this price point


Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bucketlistgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
285 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We thought that our room was a little "worn" and could do with some updating and maintenance. Our sink was blocked. The pool area was good. However the pool was too cold - although the hot tub was fine. Breakfast was quite basic and consisted of just pastries, juice and coffee which was laid out in the lobby. There was no seating area as such so had to take it back to our room.

This motel is off the road so no traffic noise. We thought that this motel offered good value and was o.k. for one night. It is also convenient for accessing highway 1.

The receptionist was helpful and gave us some restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We initially booked only one night here as we were a little hesitant given some of the reviews, and the great price we booked the room for. The motel is cheap and basic, but if you are just looking for somewhere to out your head down at night then this place is just the ticket. We were impressed with our first night so booked a second night at the same rate. The fridge provided in the room is very large and handy, the TV in our room was flat screen and modern. The towels could do with updating as they are clearly old and well used. Breakfast is very basic in the motel, however there is an IHOP and Denny's on either side of the motel which will honour a 20% discount as a motel guest, just show them your room key. Jabal on the front desk was extremely friendly and welcoming. Would stay here again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlottie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed four nights. The room was very clean. The staff was great. specially Jabal. He was always happy & asking if he could do anything for me or get me anything. The breakfast was just right for me. I am not a big breakfast person. Right across the street from shopping & restaurants. Also had a Denny's on site. Close to the Elks lodge which I took advantage of several times. I had a wonderful stay. Thanks Jabal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Property: Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Address: 210 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing