We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK for one night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK for one night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The internet wasn't working - which means that we had to go to the lobby everytime we wanted to use wifi on our laptop. Breakfast was only coffee and donuts, and it was first come first serve... if you came too late, there was nothing left. Staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreatlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    53
    74
    44
    38
See reviews for
70
83
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a great stay here. The rooms were clean and my family and I received great customer service. The receptionist was pleasant and helped us find places to go and suggested places to eat. The location is perfect. In a safe area, not too far from downtown and it is right next door to Denny's. There are also lots of shopping right across the street. My big thing is cleanliness and it exceeded my expectations. Definitely will stay here again when I visit San Luis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

My stay at Vagabond Inn - San Luis Obispo was great! The front desk was super helpful in accommodating me with all of my requests right from the start. I stayed in a 2 bedroom which was located in the back of property for the weekend while visiting my son. My room was pretty nice - clean sheets, great pillows, and newly updated furniture. I would recommend vagabond inn for any one that is visiting SLO.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This is the great place , very convenient to the restaurant , Madonna complex is just steps away. I like Denny's which is on the property. Ihop is next to hotel. My wife loves morning breakfast and I have good choices.
Rates are very reasonable . Laura front desk is great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After 1 night at Vagabond Inn, we woke up with dozen of bedbugs bites. We told it at the reception where the guy clearly didn't take care of it. He didn't seem surprised neither motivated to solve the problem. Better choose an other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the vagabond inn in san luis obispo, please accept our apology for your recent experience and let me assure you that we have taken every step possible to address your concerns and any problem areas, in our rooms and that we have done many updates to our rooms including new carpeting and beds within last few months,and better training in housekeeping, it is our intention to maintain quality and offer the best service with clean and comfortable accommodations at affordable rates to each of our guest.

We hope to better serve you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tend to agree with other comments listed, it is a "Budget Hotel" and is just about value for money but do not expect too much. Air conditioning unit was to noisy to use, television was from the "60's" cleaning left a lot to be desired and breakfst was a joke. Try Denny's next door. pool was clean and well maintained and the location was suitable for ou needs, we extened our stay by two further days as the rates where better than downtown SLO. Just do not expect too much. check out was simple afte we found te owner who had gone missing for a while. over all not bad.

Room Tip: Try for a room downstairs as there is no eleveators and you need to haul your luggage up several fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Infraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The motel was simple and decent but the facilities are good. The room has everything you need from coffee maker, iron and the board, std TV with few channels, fridge as well as wifi. The shower was clean and the hot water fully power. It was important for me who like to take a shower.
The bed was so so thought there were 2 beds with size about 150x200cm. The bed cover and carpet used dark color, it makes me suspicious about the cleaness but after all with a reasonable rate I am cool and no complaint

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#24 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#21 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#20 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Property: Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Address: 210 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing