We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , simple motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Pismo beach
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location , simple motel”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This is the great place , very convenient to the restaurant , Madonna complex is just steps away. I like Denny's which is on the property. Ihop is next to hotel. My wife loves morning breakfast and I have good choices.
Rates are very reasonable . Laura front desk is great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    61
    81
    47
    41
See reviews for
80
89
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After 1 night at Vagabond Inn, we woke up with dozen of bedbugs bites. We told it at the reception where the guy clearly didn't take care of it. He didn't seem surprised neither motivated to solve the problem. Better choose an other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the vagabond inn in san luis obispo, please accept our apology for your recent experience and let me assure you that we have taken every step possible to address your concerns and any problem areas, in our rooms and that we have done many updates to our rooms including new carpeting and beds within last few months,and better training in housekeeping, it is our intention to maintain quality and offer the best service with clean and comfortable accommodations at affordable rates to each of our guest.

We hope to better serve you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tend to agree with other comments listed, it is a "Budget Hotel" and is just about value for money but do not expect too much. Air conditioning unit was to noisy to use, television was from the "60's" cleaning left a lot to be desired and breakfst was a joke. Try Denny's next door. pool was clean and well maintained and the location was suitable for ou needs, we extened our stay by two further days as the rates where better than downtown SLO. Just do not expect too much. check out was simple afte we found te owner who had gone missing for a while. over all not bad.

Room Tip: Try for a room downstairs as there is no eleveators and you need to haul your luggage up several fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Infraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The motel was simple and decent but the facilities are good. The room has everything you need from coffee maker, iron and the board, std TV with few channels, fridge as well as wifi. The shower was clean and the hot water fully power. It was important for me who like to take a shower.
The bed was so so thought there were 2 beds with size about 150x200cm. The bed cover and carpet used dark color, it makes me suspicious about the cleaness but after all with a reasonable rate I am cool and no complaint

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked a room online and got our confirmation email. When we arrived to the hotel (after requesting a late check-in because we were driving out of town with a new born) they advised us they did not have any rooms available. We showed them our confirmation email and they said they did not have any reservations from them. They were rude and when we filed a complaint they were rude with their response as well. We had stayed there a few times before but never again will they get our business and I hope you choose to go elsewhere too.

Room Tip: Do not stay at Vagabond Inn San Luis
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tab129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a suite,and it certainly was NOT worth the money! Parking lot was super dirty. Pool was clean, but not heated at all. Spa worked okay, but filthy. Room was big, but bed was horribly uncomfortable! Shower, as in any hotel it seems, had no pressure and hot water was only intermittent. No continental breakfast worth mentioning. It was a convenient location, across the street from grocery store. Not that sure if we would go back there or not....bathtub had dirt in it, and towels had stains. Couch in our room was also very uncomfortable and tv was placed so that we could not watch it from our bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binksmom92382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Vegabond Inn is just ok. It is near the 101 highway so it is convenient for travelers and is about 10 miles from Pismo Beach. I booked the hotel online and paid over $150 per night. It is worth half that. Breakfast should not be listed on the website as all they had were a few apples and some muffins and coffee. Room was ok. Water pressure in the shower is very good. It's a good place to stop for the night, other than that I would not stay there for an extended time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
3 Thank VW_Treffen_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
389 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
348 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
446 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#28 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Property: Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Address: 210 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing