We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a suite,and it certainly was NOT worth the money! Parking lot was super dirty. Pool was clean, but not heated at all. Spa worked okay, but filthy. Room was big, but bed was horribly uncomfortable! Shower, as in any hotel it seems, had no pressure and hot water was only intermittent. No continental breakfast worth mentioning. It was a convenient location, across the street from grocery store. Not that sure if we would go back there or not....bathtub had dirt in it, and towels had stains. Couch in our room was also very uncomfortable and tv was placed so that we could not watch it from our bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binksmom92382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    52
    72
    43
    37
See reviews for
69
80
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Vegabond Inn is just ok. It is near the 101 highway so it is convenient for travelers and is about 10 miles from Pismo Beach. I booked the hotel online and paid over $150 per night. It is worth half that. Breakfast should not be listed on the website as all they had were a few apples and some muffins and coffee. Room was ok. Water pressure in the shower is very good. It's a good place to stop for the night, other than that I would not stay there for an extended time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
3 Thank VW_Treffen_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
330 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here again, July 19th. Our room had two comfortable beds, good air conditioning, and was clean. Ben, in the front office was helpful and polite. The pool was also clean and inviting. A very nice stay for the price. We visited the farmer's market in SLO Thursday night. It was huge, and really fun. Can't wait to go back!
Note: Best rate is at Vagabond's website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here on our way from LA to San Fran. Five of us had one room with 3 queen beds, ample room. The toilet blocked on the first night and we were given a plunger to sort it out. Lovely!!
There was a pool and spa which was great for the kids. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, coffee, orange juice, sickly danish pastries and muffins. A croissant would have been nicer. Would recommend for familys or those on a budget. Great shopping across the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champai
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked two rooms at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo. We reached the hotel at 9PM on the day we were supposed to check in. When we arrived, the hotel manager claimed that he never received our reservation which we fully paid through Hotwire. When I tried to spell my name and show the reservation confirmation, without even looking he claimed that there is no reservation under this name. Most uncooperative and inhospitable place I have ever visited. At the end we had to cancel our reservation through Hotwire, within 10 minutes of drive we found a nicer hotel in the same area for similar price. Really not worth going there, there are better hotels in the area with better service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TalSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We found them in a hotel magazine with a good discount. Spacious room very clean. The queen bed seemed new and very hard. My shoulders, ribs and hips hurt the next morning, not a restful sleep. I usually like a firm mattress, but this was like sleeping on the floor. Other family members had the room next to ours and their bed was ok. Had a hard time turning on the shower. The staff were very nice and informative giving us directions to local entertainment. The continental breakfast we skipped, no where to sit and not worth walking to the office for. We went to Solvang which is about 50 min. to an hour drive and so worth it. Pismo Beach is about 15 min. and the Great American Melodrama in Oceano is the absolute best thing to go see. We've been going there for 30 years and never disappointed.

Room Tip: Next to the Madonna Inn right off the freeway, Costco about 1 1/2 mile away. Good location, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good stuff:
The room was clean and pretty large.

Decent stuff:
Awfully slow WiFi. But free, so what the heck. Enough for checking your E-mail once or twice a day or downloading some smaller maps for your phone.

Bad stuff:
Dancing meth junkie in the parking lot. Probably harmless, but the fact that he was still there dancing when we checked out in the morning does not bring any glory to the hotel.
The "Continental breakfast" was free, but consisted of little more than orange juice and a slimy donut. Luckily, there was an IHOP next door. A very crowded one, I might add.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#17 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#23 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#21 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Property: Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Address: 210 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing