We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
1 review
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A beautiful inn with great views, pleasant decor and wonderful service. A gracious and caring staff made my stay very enjoyable. All the extra services were amazing and well worth the price. Good location in a quaint section of town. A comfortable place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snooploopfloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    100
    58
    18
    19
See reviews for
86
95
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wexford ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we stayed here in june 2013, we were driving from l.a to san francisco so broke up the drive by staying here for 1 night, really wish we stayed longer. san luis is great. the hotel was very clean and the staff were great. we were upgraded to an exucitive suite (wedding anniversary) at check in and the guys at the front desk were very helpful, we told them we were driving the coast road and they showed us loads of places to visit, morro bay, availa beach, pismo beach got to see the sunset there awww. if you stay here try out franks resturant. leave the hotel and turn right towards the town. i think its the 2nd right but its a small white building, try the chilli cheese burger, so sloppy. the hotel has a nice pool and car parking is good. complimentary breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I changed our hotel reservations from another hotel when I discovered that the rooms in this place had recliners in some of their rooms, and the most accommodating and helpful staff when I made the reservation. We needed a ground floor room (no elevators) and the recliner for medical reasons and the hotel was going to be busy as we were part of a wedding group that was using this hotel but they were able to accommodate our needs. The extremely wonderful staff continued throughout our stay. Although the rooms are older, they have everything needed for a very nice stay. We stayed for 2 nights, the room was very clean, had refrigerator, microwave and the promised recliner. It was very quiet except for the air conditioner, which on low was still very loud, but we did not need it after we freshen up the room. The second day, we never needed the air conditioner on at all. The room rate included breakfast, however, we never ate the breakfast but others that were with us did and they liked it a lot. There was a very clean pool that we did not use but others were enjoying it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The Sands Inn is the place to stay if you're looking for a good rate and need to bring your dog along for the ride. They have a complimentary breakfast and an outdoor pool and hot tub. My parents stayed here every time they visited me while I attended Cal Poly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lqdeutsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fjellhamar
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights at this hotel. We found the room to be clean and well maintained. However, for some mysterious reason, an old chair was placed in front of the bathroom. It only took up valuable space. The complimentary breakfast was really good, lots of fresh fruit and youghurt, and the staff was making sure to refill everything. We found the front desk staff very helpful and friendly,giving practical tips on what to do in SLO. The kids enjoyed the outdoor pool, and the free wi-fi. We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KV67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night with my two sons. We decided to walk downtown - a little too far of a walk but we did it. Lovely downtown area with tons of eateries and shops. Hotel check-in staff was super friendly. I'd stay here again. Free breakfast did the job. Nothing fancy but just right.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We hit Paso Robles on the Central Coast mid Saturday evening BUT during the mid State fair. It soon became clear that PR was sold out and we drove 20 minutes south to Atascadero. Nothing to be had - well if you we're prepared to pay up to $199 for a $70 room you might get lucky.
They were making hay on a sunny day - guess that is understandable.
So on further south to San Luis Obispo, a town we have stayed in many times over the years. On our third attempt Sands offered us a converted conference room for $75, no TV, roll-away beds.
We took it right away - after all our options were dwindling.
And they were including breakfast and free WiFi so suddenly our evening got brighter and we were happy to drop the difference between that rate and the gouge rates further north on a decent dinner in SLO.
Complaints - not in the circumstances and the guys on reception were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing