We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We got in late at night and left in the morning after breakfast. Staff was friendly late at night. Room was clean. Quiet. Bed was comfortable. Water was hot enough. Close to Cal Poly. Breakfast was included and was decent. the facilities overall are older but fine. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davis-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 278 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went there Apri 20 for one night with my family. Was the only place available and the assistant manager charged me $219 for a suite. The air conditioninng was making a seeping sound like a gas chamber, floors are not attached to the subfloor and squeek, food for breakfest is gross, and water tempature changes while taking a shower.

Stay away.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The general manager Matt is super awesome but so is the whole staff that I've encountered. The house keeping is friendly. You know what, I've just never experienced service like this in all my travels, you be your own judge and tell me of I'm full of it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davejk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are from Texas and the staff was more then willing to give us recommendations for the best resturaunts and how to get to the beach. They even printed out maps for us:) Thank you for making our stay so amazing!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Granthamjacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi Granthamjacy!

I remember your party well. You guys rock! I’m delighted you all had a good stay here at the Sands and in California in general.

Come back to San Luis Obispo anytime; you’ll always have friendly faces waiting to greet you at the Sands Inn & Suites.

Warm Regards,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place was quiet, clean and inexpensive plus they take pets. We like this style of motel where you park at your door. Not a bad walk to downtown. Very pleasant and peaceful motel with staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank bitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the first stop on a road trip and we were impressed. Our kids loved this place s they had a heated pool, a huge collection of DVDs to borrow and a breakfast buffet. The rooms were spacious and clean with well maintained fittings and furniture. Wifi included was great too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstripsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel with even better staff. Jason greeted us with warm cookies as we entered the lobby. Then as soon as I had mentioned my name, I was told that I was upgraded to a King room and handed a pet basket for my dog. His basket included his own towel, a large sheet for him to sleep on, and even a list of local pet-friendly restaurants. The room was very cozy, and the bed was as comfortable as they get. The T.V was old, but who cares- you shouldn't go on vacation to watch t.v; also, they made up for it by having a hundred DVDs for us to choose from for free. The location was great as well. It was only a few blocks from the downtown bar scene, and the weather was beautiful, which made the walk very enjoyable. The only downside was that the walls seemed very thin when the neighbors showered in the morning. The hotel held onto its 5-star rating because of the extraordinarily kind staff who were always happy to help us in any way possible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FresYesHuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $82 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing