We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overpriced-Air conditioning is a joke-Floors make noise” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced-Air conditioning is a joke-Floors make noise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went there Apri 20 for one night with my family. Was the only place available and the assistant manager charged me $219 for a suite. The air conditioninng was making a seeping sound like a gas chamber, floors are not attached to the subfloor and squeek, food for breakfest is gross, and water tempature changes while taking a shower.

Stay away.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    95
    56
    18
    19
See reviews for
85
91
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The general manager Matt is super awesome but so is the whole staff that I've encountered. The house keeping is friendly. You know what, I've just never experienced service like this in all my travels, you be your own judge and tell me of I'm full of it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davejk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are from Texas and the staff was more then willing to give us recommendations for the best resturaunts and how to get to the beach. They even printed out maps for us:) Thank you for making our stay so amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granthamjacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Granthamjacy!

I remember your party well. You guys rock! I’m delighted you all had a good stay here at the Sands and in California in general.

Come back to San Luis Obispo anytime; you’ll always have friendly faces waiting to greet you at the Sands Inn & Suites.

Warm Regards,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This place was quiet, clean and inexpensive plus they take pets. We like this style of motel where you park at your door. Not a bad walk to downtown. Very pleasant and peaceful motel with staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the first stop on a road trip and we were impressed. Our kids loved this place s they had a heated pool, a huge collection of DVDs to borrow and a breakfast buffet. The rooms were spacious and clean with well maintained fittings and furniture. Wifi included was great too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstripsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel with even better staff. Jason greeted us with warm cookies as we entered the lobby. Then as soon as I had mentioned my name, I was told that I was upgraded to a King room and handed a pet basket for my dog. His basket included his own towel, a large sheet for him to sleep on, and even a list of local pet-friendly restaurants. The room was very cozy, and the bed was as comfortable as they get. The T.V was old, but who cares- you shouldn't go on vacation to watch t.v; also, they made up for it by having a hundred DVDs for us to choose from for free. The location was great as well. It was only a few blocks from the downtown bar scene, and the weather was beautiful, which made the walk very enjoyable. The only downside was that the walls seemed very thin when the neighbors showered in the morning. The hotel held onto its 5-star rating because of the extraordinarily kind staff who were always happy to help us in any way possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FresYesHuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Both times I have stayed at this hotel, I have found the staff to be extremely welcoming and helpful in many ways. The rooms were quite comfortable, and the breakfast was very good, offering many choices. There were several restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. This is an excellent choice for anyone traveling by train, although a taxi ride is required.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing