We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days of comfort on the coast”
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed May 23, 2012

room / not to my likening/ old and out dated / in furniture and paint colors/ bed good ,TV old/,bath tub and shower average/ location good /swimming pool very nice but beware not
heated /breakfast set up fair that home run appeal really not there,also hot tub to small , grounds very nice , but place getting old , in general the place needs some updating , also machines in
rooms making a little to much noise.

Room Tip: higher floors and away from machines and stairways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDYCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 278 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

You won't die from staying here.

Dingy? I think that's the word.

Two or three places across the street seemed nicer

Room Tip: across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetesrLakeErieshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed in the so-called "Presidential Suite," which seemed exciting until we opened the door. The hotel basically took a business conference room, stuck a bed in it, and called it a suite. There were all kinds of weird civic awards on the walls (the owners?), a big folding table, horrible fluorescent ceiling lights like you find in a school hallway, and the bathroom had those soap dispensers that come in public restrooms. There was also no discount for this bizarre arrangement, so we paid exactly the same amount as people who got to stay in normal rooms. I was particularly annoyed that the guy at the front desk did not give any indication whatsoever about the kind of weird room he was giving us -- probably because we had not pre-booked and he didn't want to risk us walking away. Definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Found this hotel in the AAA book, they had rated it 4 stars. The rooms seems nice a first, then we tried to turn on the heater. This was a suite, so it had two rooms, the front room had a heater that worked, but the bedroom heater was not functional. we had reservations for 3 nights, after staying for 2 nights and they could not get the heater fixed, we left one night early. The desk manager did provide us with a small portable heater, which did help, but was quite old and noisy. The location is great, close to Cal Poly College and downtown eating and shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Sands Inn is ok. It is fairly clean. The internet service is horrible. If you can get a connection it only lasts a few seconds at a time. They really need to upgrade this since most people want online access. The front desk staff is so-so. The free breakfast is so-so. The walls are thin and you can hear the people in the next room having a conversation. Parking is good. Proximity to Cal Poly is good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lfour44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I found this hotel passing through town and found it to be a very pleasant experience. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The price was reasonable, the rooms were comfortable, and breakfast exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drln007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
643 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $79 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing