We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Motel 6” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Motel 6”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We didn't want to spend over $200 per night for a room which the neighboring hotels were charging so we decided on Motel 6. It was CLEAN and REMODELED. Decent bed but the pillows could be more fluffier. Liked the laminent wood floors. Bathroom has granite counter. Make sure you bring your own shampoo/conditioner, lotion and hairdryer. No iron as well. They offer two small soaps only. Located off the 101 freeway. Easy access and safe environment. The front desk staff was pleasant and informed us that there's free coffee in the morning. Our dog even enjoyed our one night stay here. If you're looking for a place to sleep, choose this location.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor so you won't hear anyone walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curly323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    57
    41
    16
    15
See reviews for
43
50
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Was very pleased with my stay here. Super clean room, easy check-in, pleasant staff, and a great location close to restaurants and freeway. Clean pool and nice landscaping. Just a short drive to the beaches and fun things to do in the area. Would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on a business trip. First of all, the setting of the grounds is beautiful. I know it's Motel 6 and there are no frills. The bed was awful. There was only a mattress and no box springs. It was so soft that we could not sleep well at all. If these are remodeled rooms then I would have hated to see them before. There is no carpet. We were afraid to walk across the floor without shoes. There were not enough towels. Also, the one frill is coffee in the lobby. The clerk was too busy watching a movie to make sure the coffee was made and acted put out when we asked for some. Miserable stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good basic accommodations, clean, and a tranquil setting at the end of a road that felt safe. A better quality Motel 6 experience! Note this is the South SLO location. Fine place to stay just to spend the night. And dogs are welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janahn875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I got to the hotel and the staff was very polite. Check-in was easy and my room was just a few doors down. Not bad. The pool area was clean and a nice view of a goat farm behind the hotel too. A really good restaurant was just right around the corner as well. the room was very clean & the shower was top notch. The bed & sheets were comfy too. Overall, I liked this hotel for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teflonrobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

First keep in mind there is South and North Motel 6 only a couple blocks apart. Motel 6 South has been remodeled and looks newer and I rate it very clean. The pool looks like it's kept very nice. Be prepared for no extras or frills. No shampoo, hair dryer, safe, microwave or fridge. Just a clean room, so if on a budget this one is right for you. I should give it at least a 4 rating, but missed the little things. The only thing I disliked was the bed. It must have a plastic mattress cover and it makes noise every time you move. I'm a very lite sleeper and besides my wife, I could hear my kid in the next bed when she moved. This is not a bad place, so just be prepared for no frills.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Laminate floors - everything is sleek and basic and clean. I think it is smart idea to put in the laminate floors, makes cleaning and sanitizing easy.

It has the typical basics of a Motel 6. There are no extra bells and whistles, but that isn't what you come to Motel 6 for, it is for the budget conscious.

It is in a good location and close to restaurants. Friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoRayeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#28 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#26 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Property: Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Address: 1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South Hotel San Luis Obispo
Motel Six San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Motel Six
San Luis Obispo Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing