We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for an adjoining room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed January 14, 2012

When you travel with a dog your options are limited. We use Motel ^ becasue they are always pet friendly. San Luis Obisbo South looks better on the outside than in the room. It was not refurbished as advertized on the sign out front, had a newer sink and tub but the blankets, spreads, matresses, carpet, and furniture are old. No minifridge or microwave. But the worst is that it has a door to an adjoining room. You can hear every word they say - we might as well be in the same room. If you are heading north, you get twice the room for the same amount at Motel 6, Gilroy.

Room Tip: Avoid adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here while passing through SLO for one night, on our way to Big Sur. We wanted to stay somewhere cheap, saving our vacation funds for other experiences. We feel like we lucked out with this Motel 6. The hotel was just fine. Our room was clean and functional. The property was nicely landscaped, and included a decent pool, which we would have indulged in, weather permitting. The location was an easy drive to SLO's downtown, and also to the Madonna Inn. The front office clerk was very friendly and helpful. The only "weird" think about our stay? Someone had "tagged" my bedspread. Literally, there was a black sharpie tag, about a food across, at the foot of the bed. The bedspread was pretty brightly patterned, so I think the maid just didn't notice it when she made up the bed. No harm, but funny. This is a basic hotel, but I would gladly stay here again, and would recommend it for someone looking for a cheap stay in SLO.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter, which the clerk helpfully told us when assigning us a room. We have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cinnamontoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Staying here for the last several years while daughter attended Cal Poly. Rooms were recently refurbished but have slowly watched the property slide a little, peeling wallpaper, stains in tub etc. Still a good value for the area, just don't expect much, just the basics. We bring our own towels, hairdryer etc.They have also had a bit of a turnover on staff, but are still helpful and friendly. Unfortunately Motel 6 attracts a different crowd and this one is no exception. However we still have found the rooms to be clean, free coffee in the lobby in the morning and the location is perfect. This hotel accepts dogs which was a great advantage for us.The pool area has always been clean and inviting, though not heated. We will miss this area as our daughter has graduated and moved on.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaTreehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our son has attended Cal Poly for the last few years, and we've stayed many times at this Motel 6. We can always expect a clean quiet room. Best deal in town if you don't mind no frills.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pazyluz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had been to M6 SLO on a previous occasion and found it convenient for our purposes.
Single greatest advantage for us - accepts dogs (as do all Motel 6)
Finding it isn't exactly simple as our GPS took us off the 101 just one junction north of the correct one - 200A not 200B.
When that gets sorted however the staff (Tom) was efficient and a little bit of searching around finds a range of shops and stores within a mile or so including Starbucks, Food-for-less, Trader Joe's, a Costco and for thirsty travelers a Bev-Mo.
Rooms are standard M6 and in generally good condition. There is plentiful parking.

There was no discernible noise from adjacent rooms and as in all M6 rooms the TV is basic and the channels are all screwed up.

Recommended if you are on a budget and can get by without loads of expensive luxuries like hotel shampoo! BYO.

Room Tip: 108/109 are close to parking and on the end of a walkway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We arrived tired and hadn't booked anywhere in SLO, so I think we lucked out on this motel. The check in staff were helpful and let us view the room before we confirmed we were going to stay. We were given a courtyard room overlooking the pool, so had no road noise. The remodelled room was very clean, no mould in the shower and the toilet was spotless. The beds were comfortable. I heard the faint noise of the TV from the next room during the night, but it did not wake the rest of my family. We paid for internet access which was worthwhile and quick. We would stay againin this Motel 6.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_C_S55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I am a budget traveler to the core and have no desire to pay outrageous prices for a good night's sleep. I am looking for a simple, clean, comfortable room with basic facilities and a good bed, and that is what I got at this motel. Excpet for a somewhat musty odor, everything was great. The bed had a good firm mattress, the bathroom was spotless and the shower was perfect. There was plenty of room for my things, sufficient counter space, a small square work table and two chairs. The lighting was very adequate.The TV was satisfactory, but I really just used it to watch the 11PM news. They have wi-fi for $3.00 extra. There is a large heater/AC unit that worked well. The two evening clerks were very friendly and accommodating. Judging by what I expect in a basic highway motel, I recommend it. I asked for a quiet room and they put me in one that was on a pathway to the central courtyard which surrounds a small pool. I therefore was not in a position to be disturbed by any noise that might be going on in one of the rooms facing the courtyard. The motel is right off the highway, so you do hear the traffic to some extent, even with the windows closed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
266 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#26 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#28 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
102 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Address: 1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $65 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Motel-6, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South Hotel San Luis Obispo
Motel Six San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Motel 6
San Luis Obispo Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing