We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Weird stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Weird stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We been travelling from Northern California and decided to stay at this hotel we never had problem staying in motel 6 very convenient to check in/out. good service & friendly staff. this was the exemption & was weird about 9:30 pm our airconditioner stopped. So we tried to reset unplug and plug in again but didnt work. I went to the front desk to let them know the manager was the one who come down to our room and when we got in our room my husband said it started again. the manager told us that they put a "Motion sensor so when no movement the aircon will stop!" We understand that they are on Go Green Save anergy but that was not fun to sleep and every 2 hours need to wake- up and move ourselves so that our aircon will start that AGAIN that never normal to us to off the aircon night time it was just not fun to have a sensor motion.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hydz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
22
21
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South OC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I've read some less than stellar reviews of this M6, but decided to judge for myself as it was, frankly, half the cost of the "nice" hotels. I drove 4 hours to arrive and checked in to my guaranteed reservation at midnight. No

hassle, easy check in. They were booked up, and the clerk told the woman ahead of me in line there were no more rooms, but made a couple quick calls to other motels in the area to help her locate a vacancy. Very nice gesture, so though I was tired, I didn't mind him helping her out.
Room is remodeled and surprisingly pleasant for what you may expect. Vinyl wood plank flooring, basic maple wood furniture, with tones of soft white, khaki and paprika (dark orange) are comfortable and contemporary. A black faux stone bath counter with raised vessel sink suggest they are trying to provide some design details, while the plastic wrapped plastic cups and wall-hung towel cubby suggest "safe" and "clean" in an economy room. You can rest and shower, and watch tv on the 37" flat screen sitting on the desk, but don't expect 4-5
star amenities. Butter-pat size bar soap rounds out the provisions. No accoutrements, so BYO everything (water, shampoo, hair dryer, body
wash). The registration guy mentioned the free morning "coffee" using his own air
quotes, so I think I'll pass.
All in all, if the other joints' $59 room quality is too trifling, spend $99 for a clean and simple experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PebbDelAmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schallstadt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The rooms are above average, seemed newly renovated, clean, and no carpet - wow! - very convenient !!! and in the bath no wasting of water in this desert region....but unfortunately it was awfully loud from unbehaving motel guests getting more and more drunk... peeing over the balcony......until we finally reported to the office and they sent them in.... staff refunded that night! Sadly that the office clerc missed to make our reservation until our preferred day, so we had to leave instead of stay.

Room Tip: take the rooms in the back, further away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good for a stop on the road. Insides of rooms are recently renovated and room was clean. A quick drive to food options. Good for the price. Glad to have a second floor room away from the highway. Be aware that rooms on the back get noise from the neighboring car dealership in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BicoastalCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Motel 6 is always a good place too stay at. This place is friendly. Clean, secure. I always stay here when going thru San Luis Ob. Good for the price. Near stores n restaurants. If u are a single woman they will ask u if u want a upstairs room which is good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dcbabes433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This motel 6 looks like it was just renovated. The rooms are clean, no carpet (yeah!). The shower is really cool! Almost European! Clean and modern. The motel seems safe maybe cuz there was a cop in the parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the motel 6, (the "north" location) in SLO. I was there for the weekend with my mother to see our family. My check in was very smooth, and welcoming. The young girl working the desk, Tanya was very helpful. Any question we had about SLO she could answer promply. My room was clean and comfortable. Even though there was not much offered I'm glad they had coffee in the morning. I'll stay here again thats for sure

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowgirl67lv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#21 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
3.4 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
3.1 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#17 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North

Property: Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Address: 1433 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7203
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North Hotel San Luis Obispo
Motel Six San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Motel 6
San Luis Obispo Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing