We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

We stayed in the Rocky Mountain Room for 1 night and found it to be VERY comfortable and clean. The rocking chairs are a nice touch, better than the leather chairs shown on the website. The waterfall shower is COOL!!! Enjoyed a nice dinner in the Steakhouse. Would recommend the Madonna Inn and look forward to staying again one day.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tulipgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    493
    213
    79
    62
See reviews for
425
719
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new haven, ct
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2007

We stayed at the Madonna due to the great reviews on trip advisor. We found this hotel to be uncomfortable and an overpriced tourist trap. Our room was in the "cave" part of the hotel. Although it was spacious, the curtains were dusty and torn. The carpet needed to be cleaned and the woodwork needed to be repainted. We had a plastic tree branch above our bed and the fake leaves actually fell off while we were sleeping!! This hotel was such a disappointment!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank mommart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed here for one night. It was a great experience. This place is so funky! Funky in a good way! We stayed in the Mountain Cabin Room. It was great, from the bed frame that looked like branches to the beautiful mural on the wall to the pine scent in the room to the real granite walls. The place was immaculate! I was a little worried with all of the funky decorations that it might just be old and not very clean, but I have never been in a cleaner hotel room. They keep it in great condition. Was truly a great experience. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but still fun.
Overall, if you're in the area and looking for a cool place to stay, this is the place.

  • Liked — Funky experience
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank lsiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

l tell everyone about the Madonna Inn, had a great stay.. on the way to big sur.. one night only.. see all the other reviews ..

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elvisBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

Stayed at the Madonna Inn in August 2006. It was exactly as expected - very kitch and over the top. Best to turn up with a sense of fun! Some of the more popular rooms were booked out, so we stayed in the Swiss Chalet room which was very comfortable but not as exotic as other rooms.
I would recommend the restaurant - a big steak and a bottle of wine in a restaurant which is all pink except for the chandeliers is quite a memory, as are the urinals which are a site to see!!
The Madonna Inn is also in a good location just near the start of the Big Sur and Hearst Castle, and a very easy drive from Santa Barbara.
The value depends on what you are after ... the rooms are a little dated and the restaurant is expensive, but if you want a fun, kitch and memorable experience then it is worth it!

  • Liked — Over-the-top decoration
  • Disliked — A bit expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead to get the best rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sydney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2006

My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary in the Kona Rock room, featuring a huge rock fireplace and rock (but not waterfall) bathroom. As a previous reviewer suggested, it's good to go on the Inn website and check out the room photos and descriptions, although digital photos would give more detail. If in doubt about a room's features, call the Inn. I reserved several months in advance but was not able to get a waterfall shower, so plan ahead, because the room features are what makes your stay fun. I would caution those with foot or mobility problems that the floor in our bathroom and shower were also made of rock, making for an uneven, and occasionally, painful surface to walk on barefoot. We didn't dine in the steakhouse, but ate in the Copper Cafe (the coffee shop). You absolutely must check out the bakery selections, especially their cakes, which are covered with monstrous pink or chocolate curls. Although some of the features in the room are dated, you will definitely have more to e-mail home about than if you stayed at a chain motel/hotel. Everyone should visit at least once in their lifetime!

  • Liked — Unique accomodation
  • Disliked — Dated features, no pool (yet)
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan ahead for best rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HikaruDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England / Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2006

We stayed here for one night and as expected it was an unusual place. Unfortunately we booked our room only 2 weeks beforehand and so all the 'best' rooms were already booked for our Saturday night stay.

We stayed in Merry room ($200p/n +tax) and it was very garish and amusing for the novelty factor. It was a fairly comfy and quiet room but the decor was a little more run down than i would have liked. On the plus side it was a large room, particularly the bathroom.

We got good service from staff, particularly in the restaurant (as it was our anniversary we received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, balloons and a desert!). Very good set up with the round booth tables and live music but unfortunately the quality of the food did not reflect the rest of the other excellent qualities about the restaurant. The steak and lobster meal my husband had was pricey and not a very good quality at all and pretty flavourless, and my meal was just ok, but the waitress was great and recommended an excellent bottle of wine from a local vineyard.

The large area outside our room with swinging chairs etc to sit in made up for not having a private balcony which many of them overlooked this communal area anyway.

Cons:
It was hard to get a good shower as the water kept running very hot and cold which is very annoying and not what i would expect from a hotel of this size, but to be fair we didnt tell this to the hotel as we only found this out in the morning before we checked out so didnt bother complaining.
Our map showed a pool opening early 2006, and whilst we didnt have time for a swim anyway I went looking for it just to have a look and couldnt find it, maybe I didnt look hard enough or maybe it wasnt there yet... again I never actually asked the reception desk so am sure they would have been helpful if i had asked about this.
Internet access was not free which I have come to expect in most hotels I have stayed in over the last few years.

I really liked the area and if i went back (which i would like to do at some point as it was a lovely area), I would consider staying here again, but probably only if we could get one of the more unusual rooms, otherwise we would probably save our money and stay somewhere else more ordinary.

  • Liked — the novelty factor
  • Disliked — the hot/cold shower
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you stay in a 'highly themed' room, and not a more average one
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank a_fan_of_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing