We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most unusal but fun”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2005

Spent 2 nights here, chose the secret package which give you 2 nights in the room of your choice for $200 thats a good deal. The room was very large and we had a rock waterfall shower and a balcony. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did spend some time in the very pink bar having cocktails and chatting to other guests.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank susanmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,486 - 1,492 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2005

Stay 3 of our trip up the California coast was San Luis Obispo's Madonna Inn. The only reason we were stopping somewhere between Santa Barbara and Big Sur was to provide a less taxing day of touring the Hearst Castle. I imagine that is why many folks end up staying in SLO and therefore at the Madonna. I had looked into Cambria or Morro Bay, but almost all places in those two hamlets required a two night stay on the weekend--something we were not interested in. So, since my folks had stayed at the Madonna back in the 1970s, we made the reservation.

Let's just say, I'm not sure that much has changed at the Madonna since the 1970s. The decor, in addition to being ummm unique, is waaaay dated. On a night with "No vacancy" and with temperatures reaching into the 90s, would it have been too much to ask the hotel to have had the window unit running for at least a couple of hours prior to check in time?

We stayed in Just Heaven--Room 184 on the 4th floor of a building without an elevator. Thank goodness there was a back entrance to that area. Although we ended up parked farther away from our room, at least it was on the same level. We had planned to eat dinner at the Inn's Steakhouse but had not made a reservation. So instead of waiting till 9 p.m. for a meal we really didn't want, we drove into town and had a delightful dinner outside at Buona Tavola.

The bathroom was tiny. The rooms (at least ours) looked so much better on the internet than they do with real eyes. We awoke very early on Sunday morning (at least an hour before the alarm), got dressed and made a beeline out of there. The novelty is just not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank uncsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2005

We had two rooms at the Madonna Inn - one for us and one for my daughter & husband. They had the Highway Suite which was gorgeous. It had a beautiful stone fireplace and a great balcony. They said it was wonderful. Our room was one of the rock rooms - Yosemite Falls. The walls were made of huge boulders. The bathroom was completely rock including floor, ceiling, shower, sink and walls. Beautiful and fun!! Bed was good and furnishings were perfect. We also stayed in the Old World Suite and Gypsy Rock. The Old World was a large suite and completely made of stone/rock. The fireplace was could be seen from the living room or bedroom. Gypsy Rock was smaller but equally fun with lots of rock and a multi colored ceiling. We read that they are going to be putting in 2 million dollars in improvements including a new pool. The place should really be spectacular then!! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gypsyonetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

This is a fantastic hotel. It is not your regular hotel - if you are looking for a great service in a business-like setting, this is not for you. It should be viewed as an adventure, an experience. Some rooms are not the most comfortable I have ever been but still ots of fun for a couple of days.
The food is not perfect, but quite good steaks. Try the Secret packages that give you cheaper night and sometimes the food as well.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Familytraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2005

The Madonna Inn is a great fun hotel to stay at. We picked our room in advance and chose the Barrel of Fun room. I can highly recommend this room - we even had our own fireplace with a log provided! The steaks in the restaurant are superb as is the service. This hotel is highly recommended for having some fun and making you smile. A tad on the expensive side but if it's part of a special trip then it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
England
320
Reviewed June 21, 2005

Stayed in the Jungle Rock Room for 1 night and then the Chesnut Foal for 2 nights, and WOW what a place! We were going to stay in a normal Best Western or similar, but it was a holiday weekend, so everything was expensive and full, had already booked the Jungle Rock room for the Thursday night, so I rang back and asked how much the cheapest room would be for 2 more nights, so they told me of the the Chesnut Foal. When we arrived in the Jungle Rock room, what an experience, I loved every second in that room, I was in the waterfall shower for about an hour! When we were ready to leave that room, I rang the front desk and they told me to leave our bags where they were, they would move them for us, and when we got back later that night, sure enough our bags were there waiting for us, excellent service, especially as we had very heavy suitcases, and we were 2 flights up! The Chesnut Foal was a great room too (not so inpressive, but still cool!) All in all I would recommend anyone to stay here, just for the experience, we are definatley going back, and next time it will be the Caveman room. It is abit more expensive, but after working it out on a holiday weekend, it wasn't any more expensive than a big chain of hotels that all look the same! We also ate in the steak house, and that was great, we had ribs which were OK, nothing too special, but everything else was wonderful! Would recommend to anyone to go there, what a fantastic place!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2005

We had been told about this 'interesting ' place;booked ahead on a jouney from Hearst Castle down to LA.
Reception- Very CURT and unfriendly.
Room - Expensive( by comparrison to every other that we used in 14 nights).Noisy as trucks back up in the middle of the night with warning horns going!
Restaurant- Pink OK but food! Pride themselves on steaks! they should get out and about to San Fran and the rest of the coast area. My steak 0/10.
One strength- Barman,working his way through college, great guy, very busy but polite informative and efficient.
I got a better deal , booking ahead, in San Fran than i got here.
Not for me but i will be interested to read other visitors comments.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank henryhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,460 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $221 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing