We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to Rock Out”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great experience from check in to check out. Staff was amazing and even gave one of the Trip Advisor Kudo pins to the receptionist. Stayed in Swiss Rock. Very "red"...Rock shower was fun. Rooms are quiet, beds are very comfortable. Plenty of outlets for the electronic recharging. Convenient to the town. Ate at the cafe in the morning which had the best egg white omelet. Work out room near the pool had treadmills and weights. Pool, walking trails, hot tub, and great views. Wifi was a little spotty...Definitely an experience!

Room Tip: Any of them will provide you with something to talk about. when you check in you get a bag of cooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverStar-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Wow, what a wonderful review, thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your rock experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

we have been eyeing this hotel for years and finally were able to stay last week. we stayed in "rock bottom" which wasnt my top choice but my husband really wanted to experience one of the rock rooms. it was pretty amazing to see in person. everyone on staff is INCREDIBLY nice. the mountains are absolutely gorgeous. a lot of reviews complain about the non-rock rooms having worn curtains/carpet/etc but i think that adds to the charm. the bed definitely felt worn in but i found it to be so cozy. it was reminiscent of spending the night at grandmas when i was a kid.

the pool is amazing as well. we didnt try out the spa but definitely will for our next visit.

the pictures do it justice and its definitely worth a trip. its like stepping into another world. now that we have gotten the cave room out of our system, i cannot wait to visit again and stay in one of the gaudy, ridiculous rooms.

Room Tip: you cant go wrong here, they are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I recently spent the night at the Madonna Inn for our anniversary, and really enjoyed our stay! We selected the "Kona Rock" room. Check-in was fast (we were given cookies as we left!), and we were greeted in the room by a complimentary bottle of champagne for our celebration.

Bed was comfy. Decor was everything we were looking forward to, from the over the top pineapple chandelier to the rock walls. The fireplace was excellent for a gas fireplace (it felt like a full fledged fire, not a faint flicker). The bathroom's open shower was enjoyable and the toilet seat was even heated.

If you're staying at the Madonna Inn, you should be staying for its unusual rooms, and the over the top general design of the hotel. But I was pleased that there was more to the hotel beyond that, in the form of good service and a comfortable room. We unfortunately did not have time to try the heated pool or the spa services, but we intend to stay longer next time we return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoomLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Recommended to stay at this hotel by a friend, and now I know why. Easy to find, lots of signs on highway. Checking in was easy, but not knowing any of the background history and relevant hotel knowledge, receptionist was very dry and information was almost squeezed out of her, with 3-5 questions. But she was still informative, though not a crack of a smile, which was unusual.
Each room has a unique design. Room was clean and well done. The main attraction was the main building. Definitely recommend a drink at the bar. Check out the bathroom downstairs, you'll know what I mean. Food is average, but environment is fantastic. It's like stepping into a fantasy cartoon.

Room Tip: look at each room online, each has a different theme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikko345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for your review and the feedback on the service that you were provided. While it sounds like your check in was quick, we would always want you to feel welcomed by friendly agents with a smile. We appreciate these comments and will use this as a training opportunity. Hopefully we can see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I chooses this hotel because I was attracted by the pictures on the web site when I checked it at the first look. The hotel has 110 rooms and each has different style - some has big rock fireplace; some looks very girlish, some even has wheels at the side of the bed... It looked to me just like Hogwarts School in Harry Potter. So I decided that we should be the "wizards" or "witches" at least for one night there :-).

The hotel didn't disappoint us. When we entered the room, kids were surprised by the unique decoration. They were so excited and could not wait to check other kids' rooms. They were amazed by the "water fall" room and the garbage looked like a big copper boot...

We arrived late on that day so we didn't have dinner in its restaurant. So I cannot give any comments on their service. But we went to the pool instead. The water temperature was good, so none of us felt cold. We swam there for about an hour and soaked ourselves in the spa. We loved the pool so much especially the kids! So we went back to the pool again the next day before checkout.

If you are going to Pismo beach, I highly recommend this hotel! It's romantic and full of fun!

Room Tip: Check their web site, they have all the room types and descriptions of the feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foregister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I love the kitschy bar and restaurant - all of the pink, the gold, the horrific opulence was awesome . The pool area is really nice - a really well maintained and clean pool area with a big (heated) pool.

The rooms are terrible. I get that they are all supposed to be wild, kitschy, crazy...but at least throw down a new clean comforter every 20 years or so, and clean the carpets every decade. The walls are paper thin, we heard everything every direction around us. I would never sleep at the Madonna Inn again, though I did enjoy the property and the bar.

I give it 3 stars because of the pool and bar - but if those 2 things were factored out it would have been a 2.

Room Tip: Bring your own blankets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STMRobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed one night like many before and many will after. It is an experience and a place like no other and for that it is worth seeing if your passing. But if you want a calmer environment you will better off 10 miles down the road at Morro Bay.

The room we had was the Pioneer Room - perhaps a tame option compared to many - but it was clean, comfortable and very spacious. It could have slept 2 more on the sofas alone.

We didn't use the dining options as we went into town, which is worthwhile if the place is busy as it was when we arrived in early evening with a wedding in full swing. Still we bought some stuff at the shop, stared at the sheer audacity of the decor and admired (?) the doll on the swing in the ceiling! It is a memory that will endure.

Room Tip: What can you say? Look at the pictures - it really is what you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardP2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,442 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
888 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $240 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing