We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great surprise”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great surprise”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

we were told by our friends about this place when we stopped in San Jose, we would have not stopped other wise and what a treat! the building is so amazing and the decorations for Christmas were over the top I loved it!! We decided to have dinner there was a wonderful band playing and people dancing we didn't want to leave. I had steak and my husband has fish and both meals were absolutely perfect, the service was wonderful, I can't say enough and the history is so cool, cant wait to go back and spend more time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you to both you and your friends who gave you the recommendation! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Christmas decorations, food and service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    521
    216
    82
    64
See reviews for
443
751
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Staying at the Madonna Inn is a unique experience. When you make a reservation, they will want to know what room you want, because no two rooms are the same. If you give the clerk ideas about what you like (bed size, what floor you want to be on, etc.) he/she will make a suggestion. Some differ only in decoration, but others are truely unique (a cave shower for example). The grounds are spacious (and well landscaped) and the rooms often are as well. We had the basic king bed room, but it was what some places call a suite these days as there was a separtae sitting area. Everything was clean and comfortable. Our car was very close to our door, but not all rooms have that feature. There is both a cafe (3 meals a day) and a restraurant (dinner only) on the property.

Room Tip: There is a website where you can find descriptions and pictures of the rooms to help you make a choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is simply beautiful and extremely interesting. It is one of those 'attractions' that you do not want to die out because of its quirkiness!

Booked the Oriental Fantasy room which was prettier in real life than its picture on the website. Felt pampered like an emperor in the room with its colors, decorations, automated heated toilet seats!!

A must try when one's doing a roadtrip on the pacific coast highway.

Room Tip: This hotel is famous for its themed rooms. Oriental Fantasy which we had was colorful and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zymorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked a waterfall room. Got the YAHOO room which was right next door to the laundry. Partially our fault because due to illness had to postpone original date booked (November) when we arrived was told another $100 because "season change" hokey and not worth nearly $300. Pool and spa was nice. Food good. Just not for me.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank screamingmememe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed to hear you were not 100% pleased with your room. Our rates are consistent year round with the exception of New Years Eve when we have increased rates for the holiday season. Perhaps we can have you as our guest again in the future to try another room. We would love another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Probably by far the best place to stay in San Luis Obispo. The only thing you will ask yourself here is 'where do I look?' Madonna Inn is an attraction in the area by it's own right. Everything is flamboyant and fun. All the rooms are themed differently and are completely over the top. On booking, most of the crazier rooms were taken unfortunately and ours was more on the tame side but the bathroom was a sparkling dazzling aray of purple bling. Awesome. We stayed in the 'Time of your life' room which was great for privacy but still close enough to the main hub. The restaurant had brilliant staff and food. They also do great breakfasts!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae_lovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royal oaks
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Yes that's right heated toilet seats. Stopped in on a whim on the way home from Gemala beach.
It was dark and the place was all lit up. Nice lady at front desk gave us a big book and a list of rooms they were available. The book had photos of all the rooms. took what we thought was the best of what was left. Got to the room after caring every thing in and took in the vistual asalt. And sat down on the seat and wow that feels nice. Fallowed by the cool whats this button do?
They have a live band 6 nights a week some times 7. Just fantastic. Oh and the best pancakes I have ever eaten that next morning.

Room Tip: if the pool is your thing then its heated nice and warm even at night and it has two hot tubs one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mish g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us! The heated bidets are such a neat feature that we are happy to offer. Hopefully we will see you again to try out another themed room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've driven by this place since I was a kid and always wanted to stay. It's better than expected. The 50s kitsch is impeccable. The place is still run by the original family, and I would love to know where they get the replacements for refurbishment. Everything is spotless - it feels like you just walked into the mid century. Nightly dancing (swing, jazz) and music, great bar, wonderful pool - away from any rooms, so reasonable hours. Loved this place! The pictures on their website do it justice, which is rare. The one slight bummer is that you can't choose your specific room, although they do take requests. We've always been happy with the surprise!

Room Tip: You can't actually choose the specific room, which is kind of a bummer - but we've so far al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
712 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
851 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing