We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full filled expectations”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Full filled expectations”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Weird, bizarre but totally an experience you should not miss. We had a Tall and Short room. First surprise was a heated toilet seat with showering features. In a room you felt like being in a fairytail. Sadly I forgot my fluffy dress at home. Fitness center was nicely equipped and we took a nice walk trail nearby Lake Laguna. We dined here and the food was also good, very American. Have a steak, my husband tells me to write.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NReetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    521
    216
    82
    64
See reviews for
443
751
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was in pismo for our anniversary but visited Madonna inn decided to leave the hotel we were at and stay here for our last night;) the best thing about this place (it was clean!!! ) I would suggest getting a room with tile no smells and feels so clean! A very lovely pool away from the rooms so noise won't bother guests;) you have to try at least once;) we loved and had a relaxing time;) front desk lady was really nice too which makes a huge difference;) we would def come back;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restauranteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Madonna Inn in August. It was the first stop on a 14 day California adventure. Well I wish we had stayed more days. From the moment we got there the service was unbelievable. We stayed in the Caveman room and it was by far the most unusual room I have ever stayed in. We had a waterfall in our room, everything was made of rock, we had a waterfall shower which was awesome. It was even fun to brush our teeth out of the water that came out of the wall. The bartenders were awesome and the service at the restaurant was great. The pool area is beautiful. We had a wonderful time and wanted to thank everyone at the Madonna Inn for there great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you like kitschy, you'll love the Madonna inn. This place is completely overwhelming, you have to see it to believe it. We specifically went to SLO to see the Madonna inn on our drive to San Francisco.

Note: We did not stay here or eat here. I can't comment on that aspect. No, the decor is not outdated, its pink and screams 1968! Woah!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Each room has its own theme, with thoughtful, detailed design pieces, antique and vintage furniture, matching wallpaper, curtains, faucets, mirrors, etc. A bit pricey, but very cute and good location right next to Hwy 101.

Room Tip: Ask front desk for room catalog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulamalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here after hearing all about the history and theme rooms. We stayed in one of the more subtle of themes. It had a balcony & a Fireplace. Dinner was fantastic, very classic style and the decor is wild ! What a throwback. Kitchy and worth the trip.

Room Tip: Look at the different rooms on the website, it's easy to navigate. That's how I picked our.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Madonna Inn is a quirky California classic! Madonna Inn has been our anniversary favorite for 20+ years. If you have any sense of humor at all- you will dig this place. The Madonnas were wonderful and friendly folks, and their personality is everywhere. With the new addition of the pool and spa, it's the perfect spot for a getaway. And the spa services (and room+spa packages) are terrific.

When booking your room- go to the room grid on the website and CALL the Inn. That way you can get the exact room you want. Also, book a reservation in the dining room early- ask for Sharon's section- she's the best. And if you like coffee crunch cake- ask your server to hold a piece for your dessert- it's a hot commodity and it always goes fast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnlti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your return business throughout the past twenty years here at Madonna Inn for your anniversary. Your loyalty, review, and tips are invaluable to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
712 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
851 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing