We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with one thing that spoilt it”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with one thing that spoilt it”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was so looking forward to staying at the Madonna Inn (out of the 2 week US road trip this was the one I was most excited about). I love anything kitsch or retro so this place is right up my street. We booked our room online, thinking we would be in the Cayucos Queen but disappointingly when we arrived we were told we couldn't have that room and instead were put into the Sir Walter Raleigh room. This room was probably the most boring room you could have put us English people in as it was familiar to us. We wanted something camp! So be warned that you can't book the room you want. Even though the rooms near us were empty we weren't allowed to swap and have one of those. The restaurant was very expensive but this was fine because we went into the cheaper 'cafe' next door which we loved. Unfortunately there was a marathon being hosted early on the Sunday morning which woke us up at about 6am but all in all I did think it was a great hotel, they just need to specify on the website that you can't have the room you book...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    505
    214
    81
    63
See reviews for
433
737
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed one night and wished we could have stayed another. Super friendly staff. We had a purple room with chartreuse accents, pink bathroom, and metallic sofa. We arrived too late to get food but were told of a place that delivers which turned out to be fast and pretty good. It can be hard to find parking in front of your room. Large rooms, great bathroom setup. The beds were a little mushy and you can hear people walking by. Our room was on the second floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvlrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a lovely place, so different and you need to live the moment as Mr and Mrs Madonna did. The Inn is steeped in history, a lovely place, we had a fantastic time there. There is a lot to see and as a result you need to take your time and enjoy the views and read all the photos etc hanging on the walls.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with a theme for each one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel21829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

40 years ago, while driving the coast in who knows what condition, and having to use a restroom, I pulled off the highway and entered the Madonna Inn. I'd say the experience of using their restroom and seeing just a little of the hotel during that encounter was enough to say that I have encountered the Twilight Zone, and loved every minute of it. I've never forgotten that experience, so that when the opportunity arose for a planned road trip up US 1 from LA to San Francisco with my wife, the Madonna Inn was a must stay, even for just one night. We had picked Bridal Falls. With its green carpeting, green painted ceiling, rock walls, rock bathroom and shower, and pinks and reds sofa and chairs, ornate gold mirrors, stained glass main window, and flowery bedspread, this is the kind of place that you come back and say..."you won't believe where I've been" and you'd better have pictures to prove it. We ate dinner at their Gold Rush restaurant, which was as ostentatious and over the top as being in Las Vegas circa 1955, as well as being very good, although I can't remember what we had. Sorry. The pool are on their website, possibly because of the use of a wide angle lens, was more formidable and inviting than in the picture, and I could see lounging around their infinity pool, the kind where you walk in as it gradually deepens, and their waterfall, and their gardens, although when we were there it was cloudy and cool. Still loved being there and look forward to another visit, hopefully when the sun is shining. I would highly recommend a stay here. All the rooms are quirky in their own ways, as evidenced by the photos on their website.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
What a great review, thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience in the Bridal Falls room and our facilities. Your recommendation is valuable and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We decided to stay at the Madonna inn for a night as we were driving down the coast. We were on our honeymoon and had booked the romance room. Loved the room, carpets were soooo thick and soft, had a heated toilet seat and the room was very spacious. We had a complimentary bottle of bubbly as we were on our honeymoon which was a lovely surprise when we arrived. Staff were all very friendly. We didn't use the pool at all as we weren't staying that long. Just wish we could have stayed longer!! We ate in the restaurant, but I will review that separately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
The Romance room is perfect for honeymoons and we are so pleased to hear that your hotel stay went well. Hopefully we can see you again in the future, perhaps to celebrate an anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrill NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We were vacationing in San Luis Obispo. We couldn't book the Madonna Inn through Orbitz.
So we only spent one night here but it was so nice. We stayed in the Madonna suite all done in reds, pinks, crystal, with rock wall water fall shower, cool sink, and fireplace. Our adjoining room was the gypsy room which also had a cool shower. The rooms were very clean! We also loved the beautiful heated pool and the hot tubs. We had dinner at the steakhouse which was good, loved the pink decor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent one night at the Madonna Inn for an antique show at the Madonna Convention Center next door. The room was built like a cave out of natural rock. The shower was just like going into a cave and the water for the bathroom sink traveled down a spiral rock trough into the sink with out splashing a drop. Had coffee in the room, but limited room service and Starbucks was about a mile away. No internet service available in the room, but was in the coffee shop. Great freeway access and ample parking. Room was very clean and comfortable. A very unique Hotel experience.

Room Tip: Try one of their "Cave Suites".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying here with us during the Remnants Antique show. We appreciate your business and are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
610 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing