We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience you won't forget”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a lovely place, so different and you need to live the moment as Mr and Mrs Madonna did. The Inn is steeped in history, a lovely place, we had a fantastic time there. There is a lot to see and as a result you need to take your time and enjoy the views and read all the photos etc hanging on the walls.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with a theme for each one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel21829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

40 years ago, while driving the coast in who knows what condition, and having to use a restroom, I pulled off the highway and entered the Madonna Inn. I'd say the experience of using their restroom and seeing just a little of the hotel during that encounter was enough to say that I have encountered the Twilight Zone, and loved every minute of it. I've never forgotten that experience, so that when the opportunity arose for a planned road trip up US 1 from LA to San Francisco with my wife, the Madonna Inn was a must stay, even for just one night. We had picked Bridal Falls. With its green carpeting, green painted ceiling, rock walls, rock bathroom and shower, and pinks and reds sofa and chairs, ornate gold mirrors, stained glass main window, and flowery bedspread, this is the kind of place that you come back and say..."you won't believe where I've been" and you'd better have pictures to prove it. We ate dinner at their Gold Rush restaurant, which was as ostentatious and over the top as being in Las Vegas circa 1955, as well as being very good, although I can't remember what we had. Sorry. The pool are on their website, possibly because of the use of a wide angle lens, was more formidable and inviting than in the picture, and I could see lounging around their infinity pool, the kind where you walk in as it gradually deepens, and their waterfall, and their gardens, although when we were there it was cloudy and cool. Still loved being there and look forward to another visit, hopefully when the sun is shining. I would highly recommend a stay here. All the rooms are quirky in their own ways, as evidenced by the photos on their website.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

What a great review, thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience in the Bridal Falls room and our facilities. Your recommendation is valuable and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We decided to stay at the Madonna inn for a night as we were driving down the coast. We were on our honeymoon and had booked the romance room. Loved the room, carpets were soooo thick and soft, had a heated toilet seat and the room was very spacious. We had a complimentary bottle of bubbly as we were on our honeymoon which was a lovely surprise when we arrived. Staff were all very friendly. We didn't use the pool at all as we weren't staying that long. Just wish we could have stayed longer!! We ate in the restaurant, but I will review that separately.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

The Romance room is perfect for honeymoons and we are so pleased to hear that your hotel stay went well. Hopefully we can see you again in the future, perhaps to celebrate an anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We were vacationing in San Luis Obispo. We couldn't book the Madonna Inn through Orbitz.
So we only spent one night here but it was so nice. We stayed in the Madonna suite all done in reds, pinks, crystal, with rock wall water fall shower, cool sink, and fireplace. Our adjoining room was the gypsy room which also had a cool shower. The rooms were very clean! We also loved the beautiful heated pool and the hot tubs. We had dinner at the steakhouse which was good, loved the pink decor.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent one night at the Madonna Inn for an antique show at the Madonna Convention Center next door. The room was built like a cave out of natural rock. The shower was just like going into a cave and the water for the bathroom sink traveled down a spiral rock trough into the sink with out splashing a drop. Had coffee in the room, but limited room service and Starbucks was about a mile away. No internet service available in the room, but was in the coffee shop. Great freeway access and ample parking. Room was very clean and comfortable. A very unique Hotel experience.

Room Tip: Try one of their "Cave Suites".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and for staying here with us during the Remnants Antique show. We appreciate your business and are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights to visit our daughter that attends Cal Poly SLO. Picked the Desert Sands room. Checked was service was good. Room initially seemed okay. Lighting in bathroom is not very good. Toilet paper is the cheapest possible. Honestly, the TP in our daughter's dorm is better. Skipped their restaurants due to sketchy reviews. The hotel is kind of fun but definitely tired and in need of updating as other posters have noted.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bioengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I made reservations months in advance and my children poured over the website picking just the right room. They settled on the Jungle Room. My experience when making the reservation was very positive and we all looked forward to our visit. As our trip drew closer it was necessary for me to adjust our dates. Again I had a positive experience with the staff and we got the reservation and the room changed. It was necessary to change rooms because of our date change so we wound up in the. Safari room. I knew when I booked the hotel that it was dated but it was so unique I was willing to overlook gold plastic outlet covers. However, when we arrived we found filthy carpets, worn upholstery, chipped furniture, and nasty bedspreads. Our rate was $269.00 per night. Surely at that rate they could afford to clean the carpets and wash the bedspreads. We wound up cutting our loses and moved to the Marriott. (Not without paying a penalty though). Sure you should stop by and look at the place it is interesting and quirky but continue down the road to spend the night there are many nicer lodging options in SLO.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
8  Thank luvmykids98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,445 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
634 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
891 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $219 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing