We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cave Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cave Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent one night at the Madonna Inn for an antique show at the Madonna Convention Center next door. The room was built like a cave out of natural rock. The shower was just like going into a cave and the water for the bathroom sink traveled down a spiral rock trough into the sink with out splashing a drop. Had coffee in the room, but limited room service and Starbucks was about a mile away. No internet service available in the room, but was in the coffee shop. Great freeway access and ample parking. Room was very clean and comfortable. A very unique Hotel experience.

Room Tip: Try one of their "Cave Suites".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying here with us during the Remnants Antique show. We appreciate your business and are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    451
    183
    76
    60
See reviews for
369
642
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights to visit our daughter that attends Cal Poly SLO. Picked the Desert Sands room. Checked was service was good. Room initially seemed okay. Lighting in bathroom is not very good. Toilet paper is the cheapest possible. Honestly, the TP in our daughter's dorm is better. Skipped their restaurants due to sketchy reviews. The hotel is kind of fun but definitely tired and in need of updating as other posters have noted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bioengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I made reservations months in advance and my children poured over the website picking just the right room. They settled on the Jungle Room. My experience when making the reservation was very positive and we all looked forward to our visit. As our trip drew closer it was necessary for me to adjust our dates. Again I had a positive experience with the staff and we got the reservation and the room changed. It was necessary to change rooms because of our date change so we wound up in the. Safari room. I knew when I booked the hotel that it was dated but it was so unique I was willing to overlook gold plastic outlet covers. However, when we arrived we found filthy carpets, worn upholstery, chipped furniture, and nasty bedspreads. Our rate was $269.00 per night. Surely at that rate they could afford to clean the carpets and wash the bedspreads. We wound up cutting our loses and moved to the Marriott. (Not without paying a penalty though). Sure you should stop by and look at the place it is interesting and quirky but continue down the road to spend the night there are many nicer lodging options in SLO.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank luvmykids98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel/motel is definitely still in the 20th century - like 1970s but in a fun way. Each room is themed so the fellas would be better off choosing the cave than the pink room ! Worth visiting/staying for something different but it does have a little bit of a tired feel. Still - the quirkiness factor makes up for it. The boutique has some real gems that I have never seen anywhere else. If you are driving through - stop :) Photos in the lounge of the Madonnas with their friend John Wayne

Room Tip: Some are girly and some are macho ie western = choose to suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beakybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we really loved this place, the rooms are something out of your imagination (or someone elses) the pool was great the service was great. we loved the hiking tracks too. the restraunt was amazing! would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryll88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It would have been fun just for a kitschy night - this really is a like a Motel 6 dressed up in lots of kitsch - had it not been for the 5am wake up with a half hour of "BOOM BOOM BOOM" outside the wall directly behind our bed. I had to call the front desk 3 times before they did something about it. It sounded like a HUGE washing machine that had been overloaded or serious issues with the pipes. Not a nice way to wake up when you are expecting a peaceful opportunity to sleep in. We never did fall back asleep. Later that morning, not a peep from management - no apology,no explanation, nothing. When I raised it at check-out, the person checking us out knew nothing about it but did offer to waive the $16 resort fee. Generous. If this is a "once in a lifetime experience" we've done our "once" and we would have been happy to skip even on that. If you do stay here, avoid room 149. We never did figure out what it was - maybe a ghost? Oh, the croissants from the bake shop are delicious.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 149.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaclin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had numerous recommendations to visit this hotel but nothing could prepare us for this experience. Each room has a different theme and we stayed in the cave room which was delightful. We showered in an open cave with water trickling down the rock face which was a unique experience.The hardest part was choosing a room. The restaurant's decor is a little on the gaudy side but the entire experience is so mind blowing that you don't really care. The food is pricey but good. The staff were helpful and friendly. We look forward to revisiting and trying a different room There are no lifts so request a ground floor room!

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you have cases there are no lifts. Just enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NieseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Sometimes the hardest choice can be picking out your room! We are pleased to hear the staff was helpful and look forward to your next visit. Feel free to pick out a room on a higher floor, we would be happy to carry your luggage for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing