We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilarious, one-of-a-kind place”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the William Tell room with a rock waterfall shower. It was great, very tacky, but in a good way. The shower was very fun and something that is very unique. I am surprised that there are bad reviews of this place based on cheesiness or tackiness- it's the Madonna Inn- that's the point, you should know what you are getting yourself into! Definitely something to do at least once.

The pool is heated, so although we were there in October, we still went swimming at night (the pool is open until 11pm), which was really fun. They also have two jacuzzis which are nice and open late as well.

The steakhouse was delicious. Somewhat pricey, but the ambiance is fun, and the wine bottles are reasonably priced- which somewhat makes up for the pricey food. The Copper Cafe for breakfast was just OK.

If you are noise sensitive I would recommend calling and asking for a quiet room, as this hotel is off of the freeway, and we could hear the cars from our room (as well as the ice machine, which was right outside the room). We are not noise sensitive so it did not bother us, but it's something to think about if you are.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
There are newer reviews for Madonna Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Overpriced, tacky rooms like bad Branson.
People in front of us at check in trying to change their room. Other guests at pool complaining facility is too tacky. Lots of rules and extra fees. We stayed because it was recommended by 1000 places to stay but they missed the boat on this one!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelcoupler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You've seen the website...it's hilarious. We stayed in the Espana room (complete with electronic Bidet on the toilet). Staff were very friendly. We checked in very late and they were very accomodating and professional. Two double beds meant beds in separate sections of the room (separated by walls). Was a VERY large hotel room. Decor was very kitsch!

Room Tip: You can request your room in advance
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanCanucksFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the most fun hotel I have ever stayed in!

Over the top wild rooms that include rock waterfall showers and green shag carpet.

This is NOT the Marriott. You must be ready for tongue-in-cheek fashion.

Every room is worth staying in! Clean, comfortable and full of sass.

Perfect for a married couple get away without the kids!

Oh, and SLO was a great town to visit too!

Room Tip: We had the Gypsy Rock room. Great, but they are all great!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TradeshowMagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've stayed here before but dont remember the prices being so steep. And $15 RESORT fee - for what?

Upmarket prices for unique room decor, all kitsch
Reception gave us poor directions to room, so after struggling up and down flights of stairs with heavy bags after a long drive a bellboy finally told us we had to use another stairwell...but they did send up a complimentary bottle of bubbly as an apology - unfortunately they put the wrong name on it!
Meal was very reasonably priced as we decided to split a prime rib dinner between 2.
Pool warm and hot spa
Quiet, huge room. Hard towels. All conveniences but poor power point access
Great linen comfy bed

Travelled as a (mature age Australian) couple for all of August 2012 throughout California, Nevada, Utah, Arizona and into Colorado by car. Generally did not book ahead, prefer to have freedom to linger as we please, and to actually see the room before we commit. Have travelled this way many times before in USA and Europe. Stayed at a variety of hotels and B+Bs from 1 to 4 star. In busy areas (San Francisco) we booked in advance from Tripadviser reviews.

Room Tip: they are all different - look at the pics..but ask about ease of access
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachsideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in SLO for a weekend conference and looked forward to staying at the Madonna Inn. I previously stayed their a few years ago.

On this trip I was disappointed from beginning to end.

At check-in the woman never looked at me, but, made sure I initialed their extensive list of Do Not Dos.

The Inn now charges a Resort Fee of $15 per night. For this, I was entitled to television reception that was fuzzy, a bottle of tap water, and wireless Internet in the Cafe. There was an Ethernet cable in the room, but it only works if your computer device has an Ethernet jack. You also receive access to a pool and an outdated workout area.

The towels were thinner than Best Western. The bed was one step above a roll-away.

Room 202, at the top of the hill, instead of being labeled a 'cute' name, should be labeled, "The room with the most freeway noise blasting through the windows.'

Speaking of no sound proofing, you hear the people in the room above you walking back and forth, plus, other sounds.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

When telling friends we were spending our vacation driving down the PCH from Napa to Pismo Beach almost everyone who had ever done that said "you have to stay at the Madonna Inn"....so we took their advice.
We stayed at 8 different hotels on our adventure and the Madonna Inn was by far my favorite.

We booked the Kona Rock room directly with the hotel because I wanted a rock bath and "cave" experience.

The room is really cool, with a large fireplace and rock covered walls you really feel like you're in a cave. The bathroom was my favorite...everything is made of rock including the sinks. The toilet is pretty darn cool as well....let's just say I have never used one quite like it before! I won't ruin the surprise. lol

We loved the pool/hot tubs...the setting was well planned and beautiful.

We had dinner at the steak house and although a bit pricey my filet mignon and my husband's prime rib was well prepared and very high quality. My only complaint was the baked potato was so laden with butter and sourcream that it was "soupy", and inedible. We showed the waitress and her response was that she would "let them know". lol Oh well, not worth getting worked up about.

We ate breakfast (egg white omelet) the next morning at the Copper cafe....excellent!

Ladies, when visiting the main building you really need to check out the men's bathroom in the basement. Have your significant other check to be sure that it's unoccupied and than have him "demonstrate" the rock wall urinal! That's all I'm telling you....it's worth the visit. :0)

I really can't think of anything else to say that hasn't already been said except I highly recommend you try the inn because it will be an experience like you've never had before!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkelly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for including the historic Madonna Inn in your California Pacific Highway adventure! It sounds as if you had the complete inn experience with the inclusion of our hotel, restaurants and our popular restrooms! I am pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you had such a great time here. We appreciate the time you spent with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,425 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
728 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
877 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $235 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing