We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madonna Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SLO Brew Lofts(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Homestead Motel(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,731)
Filter reviews
1,731 results
Traveler rating
780
561
231
90
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
561
231
90
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock showercopper cafethemed roomsover the topcaveman roomrock wallsmadonna suitegold rush steakhousechampagne cakedifferent themekona rocksky roomheated toilet seatlove nestbucket listfilet mignonmen's bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,089 - 1,094 of 1,731 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Madonna Inn last week when we went to SLO to help settle our granddaughter into her dorm at Cal Poly. Other family members stayed next door, but we wanted to check out the Madonna Inn. We had been by here years ago but never stayed here. Quite the "unique" experience. We stayed in the Misty Rock room because it was recommended as the best available "rock" room at the time we were there. It was definitely different. A little dark for me, but it was as expected for a cave. It was clean and the bed was comfortable with nice linens and a variety of pillows. We ate at the Copper Cafe, actually 3 times, 2 breakfasts, and a dinner, and at the Steak house one night. We enjoyed both, Steak House a little pricey, Cafe was very good and we felt it was reasonable.
We went to the pool one afternoon. It is a wonderful pool in a beautiful setting. The pool temp is perfect, I really enjoyed it.
Overall it was a good experience. Our family enjoyed eating dinner with us in the Copper Cafe, and seeing our room and the grounds of the Inn. We would stay there again, but in a different room.

Room Tip: The rock rooms are very dark. We had a large window, but either you used the blackout curtains, or you were exposed to whomever wanted to peek into the room. The rooms are so interesting that everyone peeks into them, that is part of the fun of staying there!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experiences here at the Madonna Inn. I'm happy to hear you decided to give us a try with your family staying elsewhere and that everyone had an opportunity to enjoy the facilities. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ok, amazing rooms,but do no not go if you expect any evening atmosphere - the staff in the bar don't care ! there may have only been a couple of people in there, but quiet music ( could do with something to liven it up) - just a bit of chat, we were spending money (on nice drinks), they were bored (well he was) - fairly OK pool, shops awful at least try and sell soemthing OTT and fabulously outrageous not a pink stuffed pig stuffed toy that rolls around and squeaks ! I mean really? I imagine most people who go to the Madonna Inn do it on the basis it is different and whacky - some bits yes - other bits get a grip. We have paid a decent rate for an OK room, for an expensive meal (steak and wine delicious) and frankly don't want to find ourselves will nothing else to do at 9pm at night - make an effort ! Don't go there unless in the USA holidays as dead ( and that's according to the bar man who didn't care whilst selling us corked wine).
Honestly - sadly disapointing - such a shame.

Room Tip: Pay the most you cna afford then you can stay in there rather than the public/bar/restaurant
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLITTERINGSPARKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your honest opinion about your recent experience with us. I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't feel engaged in our lounge and that the customer service was not up to standards. We are a family owned and operated hotel and we would want to welcome our guests and visitors as we would a family member. Holiday times are especially fun here so I'm sorry to hear that it was so somber. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to impress in the future. For future reference, we currently have live music and dancing in our steakhouse six nights a week that's very fun and we encourage everyone to participate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I came to the Madonna Inn 40 years ago, and, in the enthusiasm of youth, thought that it was quite a place. Each room is different and there's lots of "themes" to choose from. This visit, however, found the hotel a little older (as am I) and a little less energetic (ditto). While the hotel still retains it's unique qualities, it is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. The restaurant, for example, has large entrees that hearken back to the days (and the waistlines) of Diamond Jim Brady and are expensive at that. The staff are courteous and helpful if you need to select some special "theme". They want you to get what you want. And it can be unnerving to see camera crews disappear into themed rooms with their eyes downcast. However, if you want an outrageous venue, this could be just the ticket. Also, note: no wifi in the rooms; although there is a cable.

Room Tip: Go to the web site and it might be useful to call the hotel; many rooms require carrying luggage up winding flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeMTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went with our two young kids and I had chosen the room based on the photos on their website. It is a real experience. We had the Sky room which was great and spacious. It was a really fun place to stay. We ate dinner in the cafe restaurant and thought it was over priced for what it was. Same with the breakfast. The sweet treats were great. We would recommend it for one night experience which is all we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Yes the home of one of the top ten men's rooms anywhere... Yes, women actually checkout the Men's rockwall waterfall restroom in the main building by the dining room... The dining room is gawdy because its suppose to be... Everything is over the top in a 70's kinda way. Its not for everyone's tastes but its not meant to be. The rooms are all one of a kind with the same gawdy, bizarre decor that seems time warped in from the fifties, sixties and seventies. The decorator was either trippin' or just enjoyed playing with people's minds. If you are driving the coast and looking for a place to stop, this is it. The ammenities are adequate, but the fun factor makes it a very memorable place. If you haven't done it before, you simply must. If you have done it before, then there are more comfortable and modern inns. If you want to get away from commercialism and the same old boring building in a different location then try a different room than the last time. Each room has its own appeal. Check for the ammenities available in each room to be sure you get what you want or need. Love the Madonna Inn for the fun, it only gets a four because it isn't and doesn't even try to be a five. It is clean though and as I said before, a whole lot of fun.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiffandLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews