We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"UNIQUE" EXPERIENCE”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Madonna Inn last week when we went to SLO to help settle our granddaughter into her dorm at Cal Poly. Other family members stayed next door, but we wanted to check out the Madonna Inn. We had been by here years ago but never stayed here. Quite the "unique" experience. We stayed in the Misty Rock room because it was recommended as the best available "rock" room at the time we were there. It was definitely different. A little dark for me, but it was as expected for a cave. It was clean and the bed was comfortable with nice linens and a variety of pillows. We ate at the Copper Cafe, actually 3 times, 2 breakfasts, and a dinner, and at the Steak house one night. We enjoyed both, Steak House a little pricey, Cafe was very good and we felt it was reasonable.
We went to the pool one afternoon. It is a wonderful pool in a beautiful setting. The pool temp is perfect, I really enjoyed it.
Overall it was a good experience. Our family enjoyed eating dinner with us in the Copper Cafe, and seeing our room and the grounds of the Inn. We would stay there again, but in a different room.

Room Tip: The rock rooms are very dark. We had a large window, but either you used the blackout curtains, or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experiences here at the Madonna Inn. I'm happy to hear you decided to give us a try with your family staying elsewhere and that everyone had an opportunity to enjoy the facilities. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ok, amazing rooms,but do no not go if you expect any evening atmosphere - the staff in the bar don't care ! there may have only been a couple of people in there, but quiet music ( could do with something to liven it up) - just a bit of chat, we were spending money (on nice drinks), they were bored (well he was) - fairly OK pool, shops awful at least try and sell soemthing OTT and fabulously outrageous not a pink stuffed pig stuffed toy that rolls around and squeaks ! I mean really? I imagine most people who go to the Madonna Inn do it on the basis it is different and whacky - some bits yes - other bits get a grip. We have paid a decent rate for an OK room, for an expensive meal (steak and wine delicious) and frankly don't want to find ourselves will nothing else to do at 9pm at night - make an effort ! Don't go there unless in the USA holidays as dead ( and that's according to the bar man who didn't care whilst selling us corked wine).
Honestly - sadly disapointing - such a shame.

Room Tip: Pay the most you cna afford then you can stay in there rather than the public/bar/restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLITTERINGSPARKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your honest opinion about your recent experience with us. I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't feel engaged in our lounge and that the customer service was not up to standards. We are a family owned and operated hotel and we would want to welcome our guests and visitors as we would a family member. Holiday times are especially fun here so I'm sorry to hear that it was so somber. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to impress in the future. For future reference, we currently have live music and dancing in our steakhouse six nights a week that's very fun and we encourage everyone to participate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I came to the Madonna Inn 40 years ago, and, in the enthusiasm of youth, thought that it was quite a place. Each room is different and there's lots of "themes" to choose from. This visit, however, found the hotel a little older (as am I) and a little less energetic (ditto). While the hotel still retains it's unique qualities, it is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. The restaurant, for example, has large entrees that hearken back to the days (and the waistlines) of Diamond Jim Brady and are expensive at that. The staff are courteous and helpful if you need to select some special "theme". They want you to get what you want. And it can be unnerving to see camera crews disappear into themed rooms with their eyes downcast. However, if you want an outrageous venue, this could be just the ticket. Also, note: no wifi in the rooms; although there is a cable.

Room Tip: Go to the web site and it might be useful to call the hotel; many rooms require carrying luggage up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeMTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went with our two young kids and I had chosen the room based on the photos on their website. It is a real experience. We had the Sky room which was great and spacious. It was a really fun place to stay. We ate dinner in the cafe restaurant and thought it was over priced for what it was. Same with the breakfast. The sweet treats were great. We would recommend it for one night experience which is all we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Yes the home of one of the top ten men's rooms anywhere... Yes, women actually checkout the Men's rockwall waterfall restroom in the main building by the dining room... The dining room is gawdy because its suppose to be... Everything is over the top in a 70's kinda way. Its not for everyone's tastes but its not meant to be. The rooms are all one of a kind with the same gawdy, bizarre decor that seems time warped in from the fifties, sixties and seventies. The decorator was either trippin' or just enjoyed playing with people's minds. If you are driving the coast and looking for a place to stop, this is it. The ammenities are adequate, but the fun factor makes it a very memorable place. If you haven't done it before, you simply must. If you have done it before, then there are more comfortable and modern inns. If you want to get away from commercialism and the same old boring building in a different location then try a different room than the last time. Each room has its own appeal. Check for the ammenities available in each room to be sure you get what you want or need. Love the Madonna Inn for the fun, it only gets a four because it isn't and doesn't even try to be a five. It is clean though and as I said before, a whole lot of fun.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiffandLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I really liked this hotel. They have tried to think out side the box with their ideas. It is very "kitsch" and a lot of pink, but that is part of their concept and it works. We had two adjacent rooms that were very comfortable (one was pink and the other one green). The pool area was quite nice too. But the negative was unfortunately the restaurant. The decoration was in line with the rest of the hotel but the food was actually not to good and overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanh207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear the rooms and pool exceeded your expectations. We are disappointed to hear about your experience at the steakhouse. We sincerely apologize for the quality of food you received. Please consider giving us another opportunity when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a 4 day stay here as a part of a long weekend mini vacation. I had no preconceptions of the place since I hadn't ever seen or even heard of it before, and I have to say I absolutely loved it.

We stayed in the Wilhelm Tell room which is decidedly red and boasts beautiful stained glass windows depicting the story of William Tell. The room itself was great with a nice King sized bed, but the absolute pièce de résistance was the rock waterfall shower in the bathroom. Floor to ceiling rock with a regular shower head on one side and a waterfall above, it easily fits 2 people and also has a little seat in the rock right as you enter. I could have spent the entire vacation in there!

The pool and 2 hot tubs at the top of the hill were very relaxing with a huge man-made waterfall set as the backdrop. Also near the pool are the fitness center and spa which sadly I didn't get to experience. Make sure you check out everything there is to see in the main building, its definitely worth it!

Some people will undoubtedly be turned off by the gaudy kitschy decor and prominence of pink, but I thought it was adorable and extremely interesting. I would love to stay here again and experience some of the other rooms they have to offer, especially the Caveman room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loveismysin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,451 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $236 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing