We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacuuming above us began at 8 a.m. on a Sunday”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Overpriced at $130 for a Saturday night for 3 adults. Stay on the first floor cause the second floor has yet to be renovated. The room was all new! The bathroom could have used some help, but it was okay. The doors slammed and you could hear it all the way down the hall. We were rudely awakened at 8 a.m. by the maid vacuuming the second floor. The front desk clerk just shrugged her shoulders when my husband voiced his dissatisfation. The wi-fi was extra. Plastic water cups. No radio, clock, or coffee maker. Next time...there are 2 Motel 6's, one on either side, that were advertising $59.99 for two people. I think we would have felt better about the stay had it been cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank fijibucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 404 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor, Connecticut
318
Reviewed June 27, 2006

We took a "flyer" on this hotel (the reviews were mixed) and it paid off. The hotel is very basic so don't look for any frills and it's a bit out of town but conveniently locted next to 101 with easy on/off access. The room was well outfitted and clean. There was fresh coffee and access to hot water in the lobby and the desk personnel could not have been nicer. The hallway leading to our room was a bit musty-smelling but the room itself was just fine and was truly non-smoking. In fact, I think the entire hotel is non-smoking but the room didn't have that "we sprayed around some deoderizer" smell that some many hotels seem to rely upon. If you want to save money, and the hotels in the area are quite pricey, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
112
Reviewed April 19, 2006

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The entire hotel, lobby, hallways, and the room reeked!!! The smell was a cross between an ashtray and a sewer. The sinks are rusty, half the lighting didn't work, and everything - including the bed and carpeting - oozed of old dirt and filth. Really an awful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
14
Reviewed April 6, 2006

I was planning a trip to San Luis Obispo for myself, my boyfriend, my mom and my sister. After reading the reviews here I wasn't sure if I should stay here myself, let alone if it would be acceptable for my 15 year old sister. After reading the reviews over and over and looking at reviews and pictures of other mid-priced hotels, I figured that The Rose Garden Inn was worth a chance. Now, I have booked hotels before that have decent pictures and gotten there and totally regretted it, and at first glance I thought this might be the same situation. I took the advice of other reviewers and requested a non-smoking, first floor room. I was expecting something pretty bad but it was just fine. The room was furnished in dark wood and looked like it had just been redone. The bathtub was a little funky but we dealt with it. The sheets were clean and the room smelt fine. No smoky smell or icky rose spray smell. It was very quiet considering that it is very close to the highway. It is also very easy to find. They said they had a pool but it was so cold that weekend that we didn't even attempt to look for it. Eventhough this is a motel, there are indoor hallways to access the rooms. Considering the previous reviews it seems as though they have made efforts to improve. Its not a five star but if you're looking for a bargain and are willing to sacrifice some frills, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
las vegas nv
17
Reviewed September 22, 2005

I lived in SLO for 30 plus years but moved 5 yrs ago to Nevada, I have seen changes in the Rose Garden over the years. The Mon-Fri dinner bbq or meal included is an added bonus. Nothing is very far from anywhere in San Luis Obispo City, I think this place is a great choice. I return & visit SLO often since I have family there. I would gladly recommend the Rose Garden to Anyone needing a clean, afforadable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2005

This made a very poor base. Considering how charming the town is, this was in a horrible location, miles from anything. Staff were very uncommunicative. Room was fine, but can't understand why it was so expensive. Find somewhere closer to town.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank adrienne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento
19
Reviewed February 23, 2005

I can't believe that someone came to San Luis Obispo and stayed at the Rose Garden Inn thinking it was anything more than a motel. That's what it is. It's near the freeway - and when I stayed there the intersection of Los Osos Valley Road and 101 wasn't near ANYTHING - it was practically out of town. The room was clean, the tv worked, the shower worked, and it was cheap - cheaper than the Motel-6 that is RIGHT NEXT DOOR.

If you're looking to have a holiday weekend in San Luis Obispo and you want it to be special, you would do better to choose either the Sycamore Mineral Springs (my first choice since I graduated from Cal Poly), Madonna Inn, or Apple Farm. Mind you, I'm not sure those places start at anything under $200 a night - so if you're going cheap, you can't really go any cheaper than Rose Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2001, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $67 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing