We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One confortable night”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One confortable night”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel was extermamente enough for an overnight stay, clean, comfortable with good sized rooms! We were greeted by Mary, who was very kind, guided us in everything we do question, helped us book a Japanese restaurant, suggested by her and it was amazing ... What was missing in the hotel was the breakfast that we had to go take in a cafeteria next door, with a not very receptive staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tereca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    120
    78
    49
    46
See reviews for
150
106
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here just one night to attend my son's gymnastics meet. This is an older hotel that has been updated, but still shows signs of wear, e.g. rust in the sink. Our room was a good size with an older TV (bad reception), a refrigerator and microwave. I found it difficult to get a good night sleep even though the beds for comfy due to the noisy refrigerator and single pain sliding glass door which allowed plenty of roadway noise. I had to unplug the refrig. in the middle of the night. On the plus side, they have this very large spa pool with strong jets. The pool was not heated, so didn't try that. The hotel is located away from the main part of town so we had to drive to get to a decent restaurant. The restaurant next to the hotel (Margie's Diner) didn't have an interesting menu and was pricey although we ended up having breakfast there (huge portions). I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel I, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your comments about our spa and our very comfortable beds were extremely thoughtful. Sorry to hear the frige kept you awake. Our maintenance staff has already adjusted this and it will not happen again.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

i had a premium queen room with 2 queen beds. the room was very clean and VERY large. i shared the room with 2 of my sisters and we had plenty of room to put all our stuff and then some.

the location is perfect. we didn't try out the hot tub or pool cuz it was so cold out but i'd recommend that, too. it looked really nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I needed a comfortable, clean & quiet place to stay, while i explored my options. I was glad i chose the Rose Garden Inn. The desk and housekeeping staff are helpful and responsive - they really made me feel at home. and the jacuzzi is fabulous. A great place to rest and relax. I had a view down the valley with horses - couldn't be more Centtral Coast. The rooms open to the hall and to the outside, so you always have fresh air. I highly recommend the Rose Garden Inn, whether you're here for work or for pleasure.
Diane Conn

Room Tip: I liked the Calle Joaquin side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel I, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Diane,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the hotel. We are so excited that we have done a good job for you, and you relax and enjoy your time when you are staying here. Regarding your view of the horses.... now is the best time to come. In the spring, most of the horses across the street have babies and they are so fun to watch. Our guests often comment on how beautiful a site it is for them to see.
Thanks again for your review!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I booked this hotel as a last minute road trip stop for the night. When a hotel rate is listed at $65 in the hotel chain industry you can definitely be worried and almost expect to come out with your skin itching or bed bugs. Luckily, I took a chance on the Rose Garden Inn as it seemed more mom and pop owned and I was definitely pleasantly surprised.

My boyfriend and I checked in around 9pm and the woman at the front desk was pleasant. Our room was on the ground floor with a King bed and was very spacious. When I opened the door I held my breath a bit hoping it wasn't like some of the reviews I read earlier that day and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was equipped with a coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave. I didn't go to the pool so no thoughts there.

My only gripe is my bathroom was on the older side in a upgraded room. The bathroom top was that old brown looking laminate and the shower head was very aged.

For the most part, the hotel price was not bad for the amenities and service we received. I would stay here again if I went back up by SLO again.

Room Tip: Request one of the newly upgraded rooms. toward the back of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family about 10 years ago, give or take and my memories of it are far from what it is today. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it has had some updates, mainly the carpet, furniture, and most importantly mattress! The mattress was very comfortable, and the pillows were the best I have slept on in a long time.

The pool has been updated as well, and there is now a large jacuzzi with a volcano/waterfall. It is very pretty, and so relaxing. I felt like I was on a vacation!

All of the staff was very friendly, and the rooms were clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
269 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
353 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing