We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Home”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I needed a comfortable, clean & quiet place to stay, while i explored my options. I was glad i chose the Rose Garden Inn. The desk and housekeeping staff are helpful and responsive - they really made me feel at home. and the jacuzzi is fabulous. A great place to rest and relax. I had a view down the valley with horses - couldn't be more Centtral Coast. The rooms open to the hall and to the outside, so you always have fresh air. I highly recommend the Rose Garden Inn, whether you're here for work or for pleasure.
Diane Conn

Room Tip: I liked the Calle Joaquin side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel I, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Diane,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the hotel. We are so excited that we have done a good job for you, and you relax and enjoy your time when you are staying here. Regarding your view of the horses.... now is the best time to come. In the spring, most of the horses across the street have babies and they are so fun to watch. Our guests often comment on how beautiful a site it is for them to see.
Thanks again for your review!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 408 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

I booked this hotel as a last minute road trip stop for the night. When a hotel rate is listed at $65 in the hotel chain industry you can definitely be worried and almost expect to come out with your skin itching or bed bugs. Luckily, I took a chance on the Rose Garden Inn as it seemed more mom and pop owned and I was definitely pleasantly surprised.

My boyfriend and I checked in around 9pm and the woman at the front desk was pleasant. Our room was on the ground floor with a King bed and was very spacious. When I opened the door I held my breath a bit hoping it wasn't like some of the reviews I read earlier that day and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was equipped with a coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave. I didn't go to the pool so no thoughts there.

My only gripe is my bathroom was on the older side in a upgraded room. The bathroom top was that old brown looking laminate and the shower head was very aged.

For the most part, the hotel price was not bad for the amenities and service we received. I would stay here again if I went back up by SLO again.

Room Tip: Request one of the newly upgraded rooms. toward the back of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family about 10 years ago, give or take and my memories of it are far from what it is today. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it has had some updates, mainly the carpet, furniture, and most importantly mattress! The mattress was very comfortable, and the pillows were the best I have slept on in a long time.

The pool has been updated as well, and there is now a large jacuzzi with a volcano/waterfall. It is very pretty, and so relaxing. I felt like I was on a vacation!

All of the staff was very friendly, and the rooms were clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Perfect little place to make your stay in San Luis Obispo perfect. Staff were more than friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Easy access to the city and even easier to the beach (Avila). Very good value for the money. If we go back, the Rose Garden Inn will be our stopping place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked the Rose Garden Inn based on its website description and Trip Advisor reviews. We crossed our fingers, hoping our overnight stay would be acceptable.

We were pleased that our stay turned out to offer not only value, but a clean, well-equipped room with access to a huge, empty hot tub. The Inn even provided towels to be used for the clean and well maintained pool/spa. The Rose Garden Inn was just what we needed after a day on the train and a rainy afternoon spent in and around SLO.

Lulu at the Front Desk greeted us with a welcoming smile (she had also helped us book our reservation via telephone earlier in the week, offering a 10% AAA discount). We were initially given Room 116, however due to a nearby cookout for contractors staying at the Inn, we requested to be moved and were quickly accommodated to Room 106. Our room was a Premier King-Size room and it was equipped with everything higher-priced hotels offer (sizable refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker w/coffee and tea, blow dryer, plenty of outlets, great wi-fi, thick cotton towels, and more).

The Rose Garden Inn met all of our needs and I recommend it to those needing a place to stay in and around SLO.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Gunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

An oasis in a truck stop, a beautiful spa and courtyard make you feel like you are a million miles away from the freeway but you are right there.

Friendly, accommodating and pleasant...I would return in a heartbeat. Plus when I pushed the wrong button on the vending machine and got flaming Cheetos the manager took them off my hands and gave me change out of his own pocket so I could get a granola bar.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Went with friends to San Luis Obispo, Ca For sight seeing and winery visits so much fun Stayed at Rose inn. Very clean and the pool and jacuzzi was fabulous. Close to downtown and wineries, and beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
931 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
282 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
652 reviews
3.6 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
362 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $73 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing