We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, comfortable, good staff, valuable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Eisenberg, Germany
2 reviews
“Nice, comfortable, good staff, valuable”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The room was clean, spacious and very quiet. I liked the beautiful pool surrounded by flowers including fragrant roses. My special thanks to Mary. After a very late arrival and having some personal trouble she was very helpful and understanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    111
    74
    48
    44
See reviews for
136
102
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was only here for 1 night with my 2 sons to go on a college tour of Cal Poly SLO. It is only ~10 minutes from the campus. It is a quaint Inn surrounded by bigger chain hotels. The room had 2 queen beds and was clean. I was surprised how comfortable the beds and pillows were. The highlight was the big spa with pretty waterfalls. Not something I would have expected at a small place. The manager and staff were nice. The only reason for 4 stars was the shower head sprayed water in a wide stream. We were very happy with our stay and you can't beat the price. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof3insd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Rose Garden Inn lives up to its name and then some. The roses were fragrant, the room was very comfortable, and the service was excellent. There is an adorable diner that serves everything right on the property. There are wild horses right next door! Okay, probably not wild, but they're horses. And best of all, out by the pool, they have a giant heated hot tub, with jets and changing colored lights and waterfalls and a steaming volcano. It's an island paradise! I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Thanks to Daniel we made a last minute change by one day and he was very understanding and accomodated our change.The rooms are updated, clean and very accessible.Coffee makers in the room and Maggies Diner is right on the property.I would highly recommend a stay here and its very affordable as an added benefit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Rose Garden Inn numerous times throughout 2012 and 2013; our home away from home. The staff is very professional and helpful and the manager, Daniel, is genuinely interested in our comfort and goes out of his way to say hello. The rooms are roomy, clean and the beds are comfortable. It is nice to have a refrigerator and microwave at our disposal. The location could not be better, just south of Down Town SLO, shopping center just down the street and a really great church up the hill. We love Margie's Dinner next door, servings are very large; plenty of food for my husband and I to share a meal. I highly recommend the Rose Garden Inn. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuAloisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Daniel and Mary made me feel like I was at home the rooms were clean the beds were comfortable. I felt safe the only real complaint I had was the shower head water came out wide but that was it. The maids were all very nice all of the staff was great it. I I spent about 10 days there and they were like one big family. The Rose Garden is definatly were I will be staying when I go bacl to San Luis Obispo Ca. I was almost sad to leave

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Having read several negative reviews, I wasn't sure what to think. But Rose Garden was a very clean little gem, and best of all, decent mattress. Everything in my room was simple and pleasant, and the manager seemed genuinely interested in whether I enjoyed my stay. Margie's Diner next door is a bit overpriced for a diner; but portions are large enough for two.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vistark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
263 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
375 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
691 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,537 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing