We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wasn't thrilled with this hotel. When we arrived there was no one there to check us in and we had to wait 20 minutes before they showed up. They were rude and totally unapologetic for their absence. Rooms were okay but nothing special. We had a handicapped room and it was odd. It was very nice having the diner next door. Overall it was an okay but definitely not great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel I, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

I sincerely apologize that you had to wait for your room during your November stay. There is just simply no excuse for that, so we will not give one. We are very well known for our friendly staff, which keeps people coming to our hotel time and time again. If you would, please email us at rgislo1@gmail.com. We would like to know the time and date you checked in. Your review will truly help us be sure we get good reviews in the future. Thank you so much for taking the time.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 408 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Clearly an older property, but updated decently. Close to I-101 exit so very convenient, highway noise not noticeable (from our ground floor room). Diner restaurant (Margie's Diner) adjacent to property (next door to front office), but we didn't try. Also very close to grocery and other retail. Room was clean with basic conveniences for this category (small fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board); TV just OK (25-inch, non-flat screen, with basic cable channels). Sliding glass door access to parking lot was convenient, but otherwise not that useful (no patio or sitting area). Pool on property inside surrounded interior area seems nice (with faux rock waterfall!) but we didn't try. Dog-friendly -- dog rules given at check-in stated 35 lb maximum, but wasn't mentioned (or I didn't notice) on website or booking.com when I booked (but I added specific note mentioning that we'd be arriving with 65-lb dog); exception given by friendly manager

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were originally going to spend just one night here - but the hotel was so nice and the staff at the front desk (Daniel and Mary) were so friendly and helpful, we decided to stay an additional 2 days. We received excellent suggestions on where to spend some time - sites not always found in the brochures. Situated right next to an extraordinary diner (Maggie's Diner), the hotel was a real find. The rooms were clean, nice big screen TV, and quiet - just what we were looking for. We made the hotel our HQ as we explored up and down the California coast. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for Daniel or Mary - they will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Rose Garden Inn. We are so happy you had a nice stay with us and look forward to another visit. Since there is so much to do on the Central Coast, we are hoping you come back soon so we can send you to even more of the sites in the area.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here overnight on the way to the Hearst Castle. The room was quiet even though the hotel is next to the 101 and the bed was super comfy. The room was quite large and bathroom had shower over bath. Loads of hot water for the bath, but couldn't get any out of the bathroom basin hot water tap! Daniel on the desk was very helpful and told us that we were in town for the weekly night Farmer's Market. The town was bustling with the main street closed off and loads of bbq and food stalls. Loads of good eating places in town, plus book stores! (Phoenix second-hand bookstore has two floors of books!) Had breakfast early next morning at Margie's Diner, good American diner experiene!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpotAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are well known for being the perfect stop when heading to Hearst Castle because of our freeway convenience and our friendly staff. We truly appreciate the nice words and hope you come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Ibarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were traveling thru for the evening and needed a place to unwind a few hours and then hit the hay. It had what we needed. Comfy beds, clean and quiet. We chose this hotel while driving in the car on my app and it caught my eye because of the huge spa/hot tub with a waterfall and a huge pool. When you have a 9 and 11 year old, that is important. It was a little to cold that evening to swim but the GIANT hot tub felt GREAT! Our room was just a few steps from there and had a big sliding glass door with two chairs and small table so we could enjoy a cocktail on the porch. We also have two small dogs and they are pet friendly and only charge $10.00 for a pet...perfect. The rate was also reasonable. Perfect place for our needs. They don't have a free breakfast but Margies diner is next door and breakfast was great...you definitely get what you pay for and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladydarbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late July. Arriving late we got a room at the back of the hotel. Looks like they are updating their rooms in the front. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke and it felt dirty. Not to mention the musty smell. We asked for another room that smelled a little better but it still felt old and could have used some updates. Their were holes in some of the walls and things that needed to be repaired. The bedspreads looked and smelled dirty and there was even a cigarette hole in one of them. We wished we had spent a little more money for a far more superior hotel. The only thing the hotel has going for it is the grounds. The hotel isn't near the freeway and I just didn't like the location. Stay somewhere else. The service wasn't that great. You might save some money but it isn't worth it if you are looking for comfort & cleanliness. I would have been better off at a Motel 6. I will never stay at this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmerlgreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My Wife and I stay here a lot to visit our Son who teaches school in SLO. Everything you need and very nice rooms plus a pool and huge spa. The staff is always ready to help and give tips about SLO. We will keep staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Call ahead, for a room this hotel fills up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
930 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
282 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
652 reviews
3.6 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
362 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $73 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing