We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Go To Place for People and their Doggies and without Doggies too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Berkeley, California
1 review
“A Go To Place for People and their Doggies and without Doggies too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

It will now be a destination when I pass through SLO and even stay a few days to explore the environs. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are fine. Staff is friendly and helpful. We went to Avila Beach nearby on the advice of staff, and it was delightful. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of this inn and its rose studded grounds. Eileen Adams, Berkeley CA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahshosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    111
    73
    48
    44
See reviews for
135
102
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family of 4 plus 2 dogs needed an extended stay hotel during a relocation to the area. Rose Garden Inn was a perfect match. Everyone on staff was courteous, generous, and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting outside our room (lower-level patio area accessed via a sliding door) or at the pool in a beautiful garden setting. We also appreciated the included refrigerator and microwave and the extra sink outside the bathroom. During our stay, the central bathroom ventilation system was in process of being repaired/replaced so bathroom got a little steamy during showers. We researched several hotels in the area and settled on this one as having the overall best value. I recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again given the opportunity. Thanks to the Rose Garden Inn staff for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 296John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your hotel review of the Rose Garden Inn. We sincerely appreciate the kind words you said about the hotel and hope that other guests find your review useful, just as we have. We hope your extended stay just made you love the Central Coast even more and you will tell your friends to visit San Luis Obispo on their next vacation. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Ibarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here. The pool and gardens are beautiful. The rooms are older but very well kept, but it was the management (Daniel) that made our stay memorable. The pool and water feature is fantastic. Pet Friendly, too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bschwartz125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Gallen
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

the place is a little run down! Clean and maintained as far as rooms and facility are concerned, but the bath facilities are definitely worn out and outdated.

Staff was very friendly and helpful and they do their best to assist you! Though HW 101 runs by only a few hundred feet away from the place, it is quite and comfortable.

Except for the worn out bathroom and toilette things are OK - but USD 90 plus for a night is stretching it!! if you have a few dollars to spare it will be worthwhile to book one of the higher class hotels just near by!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It is reviews like yours that help us improve on our rooms, public areas, and our staffing procedures. We appreciate all of our guests, and hope that you had a nice visit to the Central Coast.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rose Garden Inn was exttremely friendly as I was setting up my college student/athletes with housing for two weeks since their rental apartments were not ready yet. Mary in the front desk set them up nicely and professionally. Nubia and Daniel at the front office were also very friendly and courteous. The boys always complimented the staff on being friendly and for the money the hotel served it's purpose perfectly :-)
Thanks Rose Garden!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Through my many years of business and personal travel, I've spent many at countless hotels throughout the nation. What makes Rose Garden Inn a standout in my mind is the combination of the rooms, the grounds and most importantly the staff.

Any place can have good beds and cable packages, but the staff at the RGI is what takes this place to another level, well beyond the more-than-fair nightly rate. It all begins with their GM, Daniel, one of the most accommodating and kind people I've run into in my travels. He and his staff made us feel like family from the first moment we stepped onto their beautiful property. He and his staff work tirelessly to insure your stay is memorable and goes out of his way to make sure all your needs are taken care of.

Between the tri-tip dinners in the gardens, to the unbelievable hot tub and pool, all the way to the most friendly and generous maid staff, there is no where else I would ever stay on the Central Coast. Even our golden retrievers are treated like family here!!!

I have never written a review for anyplace I've stayed before, but in this case I had to for I want everyone to know that although there are many places to stay here in San Luis Obispo, there is only one Rose Garden Inn, and only one Daniel.

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids or dogs I would suggest the newly renovated wing next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Jeff,
Thank you so very much for such a nice review! I wanted to make mention, we truly enjoyed having you and your family around the Rose Garden Inn and hope that you can come back again soon. I also wanted to thank you for posting such a nice photo of the kids in the pool. We love it!!!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The staff at the Rose Garden Inn have been amazing. Driving for 9 hours from Arizona the environment and the staff has truly made this experience fulfilling. The front desk staff Mary Glend was very helpful and nice. I will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genn248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing