We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Hemet, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I needed an affordable place to stay for Thanksgiving evening and chose this hotel. It is an older hotel, but in the lobby, there is the plans for the up-coming renovations and they look fantastic. Service was so great! Very friendly and accommodating staff. I had changed my reservation room type at the last minute with no problems or added fees. The housekeeping staff was eager to help in any way they could with out reservation. I thought I had left my phone charger in the room and when I called the front desk staff personally went to the room to look for it. I found it in my purse, but he never made me feel like I had burdened him. The diner next door was great too (and the hotel guest get a decent discount!) I would absolutely recommend this Inn to my friends and stay here again with out a second thought!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJAC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    111
    73
    48
    44
See reviews for
135
102
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here while visiting relatives for thanksgiving. The rooms were not very big, but they were not postage stamp size.The rooms were clean enough did find some trash under bed. Mentioned it to management and he said he would tell house keeping. I would book through motels own web site price were better and more room choices. They have 2 wings one which is upgraded which we stayed in nicer beds, linens, more furniture coffee maker and maybe bigger tv. The other rooms were same size but looked very basic. 20$ more for upgraded rooms at time I booked. Hotel has 2 floors and all rooms appeared to have balcony or patio. The grounds were nicely kept lots of plants nice feel. The pool area was very nice larger the average pool and large hot tub with water fall and colored lights at nice very cool. Jets and temp of spa were nice not too hot and you could find a jet with nice pressure. Had down stairs room and the noise from upstairs was loud could not here rooms on the sides. The front desk guy (Jared I think) when we checked was very efficient and helpful. Small lobby had coffee and fruit available. The hotel is right off freeway and has diner on grounds. You can get small voucher at front desk for small discount at restaurant which served a very good breakfast. Have stayed in other hotels in this area over the years and will book this one again.

Room Tip: Book rooms through hotels web site and upgraded are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_N_S123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a night to go to wedding. It was clean, just off the freeway, not too busy but not isolated. There was a diner next door and the freeway access there to hit Paso, Pismo, or whatever. Rooms weren't lavish but nice and cozy and clean. Water was hot, beds comfy. I'd visit again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed on a Thursday night, which was perfect since it coincided with the city's farmer market. Not only was room satisfactory, but the hotel provided a free dinner for the entire family. After considering the value of the dinner, the room was practically free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m1rwj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
480 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Worst part of stay was waking up after one hour itching with bug bites on my arms. I had to apply an alchohol based hand sanitizer to stop the itch and get back to sleep. In the morning I had 8 large red welts on my right upper arm and 2 on my left. I mentioned the problem to the desk clerk in the morning and she seemed to make a note of it. For several days I have had to use Benadryl cream on the welts. Now 6 days later the itching has stopped but the redness is still there.
Two days after my stay there I got an routine email from the inn manager thanking me for staying there and asking for feed back. I sent a nice letter of my experience (and of other short coming as listed below). Now four days after my return email the manager has yet to reply. Great service. He apparently doesn't give a rip about customer satisfaction or his bug infestation.
In addition to the biting insects the "free" wifi was down (even though I was given the password at check-in), there wasn't any coffee or coffee maker in room nor any clock radio, instruction card on phone or inn book, Don't be fooled by the web pictures. My room looked nothing like them. The furniture was beat up, the one chair was stained rust on the curtain rod and bad spots on the mirror.
I paid $90 for this dump. Go across the street to Motel 6 and get a refurbished room for less.

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our recent road trip. Out of 11 different hotel/ motels this was the only one we regretted.

They have clearly spent a lot of money in the pool and hot tub which was amazing we spent ages in the hot tub it was bliss but the rest of the hotel just felt grubby and dated. We were meant to be in a newly refurbished room, if we were, then I'd hate to see what the other rooms where like. The bed spreads smelt dank we took them off and put them in the wardrobe the armchair felt filthy and stepping out onto the patio door balcony felt unsafe ! The information about the place invites you to borrow a DVD from their collection to watch in the room so we thought we would get a pizza delivered and watch a film, the numbers for pizza places that deliver on the info card in our room were wrong numbers and when we asked the guy at the front desk he said it was too late (9pm) for the local places and we should look up something on the Internet ! Thanks ! Very helpful ! When we asked him about the DVDs, opening a small cupboard behind the desk that we couldn't see into, he asked which one we wanted .....? How were we supposed to know what they had ??After asking him if we could take a look he made a big effort to bring them all over in stacks so we could go through them ...... Needless to say they were all crap but we had lost interest by then.

$5 off at margies dinner for breakfast really wasn't enough entice us to eat there, we walked in and walked straight back out and got breakfast on our way through town instead. It was a shame because the grounds are nice and the pool and hot tub is great but the rest of it makes me unable to recomend a stay.

We wished we had stayed in Morro Bay as we had originally planned.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amisku29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall this is a good hotel if you're going to spend a few days around San Luis Obispo. It is a little beyond the basic mom-and-dad motel, specifically as it has a very good pool and hot tub. Also reception is very attentive and quick to respond.

The downsides we found to it:
- No breakfast, and the diner next door is EXPENSIVE
- Not enough towels! We were 5 people in the room, every day just 3 fresh towels... But this was quickly sorted by reception. Every day ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watergrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing