We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Good hotel to stay. I would have said great, however the hotel has been aging gracefully. The rooms certainly need updating. Flat screen TVs are possibly the only updated elements. The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The furniture is in good condition but as I mentioned can be updated. Location very good. Great breakfast. Ample free parking. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edspaghett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2009

The room was comfortable and spacious. Close to some local restaurants. We went to Hearst Castle in the morning (about 1 hour drive), and this place seemed much better than any of the other hotels/motels closer to Cambria, based on talking to the other people on the Hearst Castle tour. The free breakfast is only free if you wake up early and don't mind waiting in a long line. Various breakfast foods seem to run out quickly. A lot of families were staying there and the pool area was filled with kids.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphonseallais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights while my husband was attending a hobby related conference at the hotel. Each room is really a suite with a large sitting room (couch, TV, desk, microwave,frig) a bathroom area with an inner room for the toilet, sink, and shower/tub) and an outer space with a large counter and sink to do hair, shave, etc. The separate bedroom is large and contains another TV, 2 nightstands, 2 double (others possibly available), chest of drawers, and wardrobe to hang up clothes. Parents and up to 2 children would be comfortable here.

An exercise room, pool, and 2 complimentary computers with internet access are also provided to guests, but guests must pay a fee of $6-$7 per 24 hours to hook up their own laptop in their rooms.

The complimentary breakfast is the best deal in town. Omlettes and other egg dishes are made to the customer's specifications --the diner may request spinach, onions, mushrooms, tomatoes, green peppers, cheese, etc. to be added to the omlette and request fried potatoes, sausage, or bacon (cooked just right) to go with it. The diner can also choose toast, baked goods, yoghurt, cereal or fresh fruit to go along with it. Good coffee.

The hotel's lobby and dining area are extremely spacious and comfortable-- located in a large eye catching square atrium with several stories of rooms being located up above.

The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the coffee pot furnished in the room -- isn't.
Instead, it is a gadget that drips the coffee into 2 styrofoam cups--thus one can't keep the coffee warm for a while or pour a little more. However, more coffee is available from the dining room.

There are a couple restaurants within walking distance (Applebees, Tahoe Joe's --which we didn't like, etc. However, our very favorite one to walk to was a Chinese Restaurant --the Golden Gong across from Madonna Plaza on Madonna Road--which had absolutely delicious food and was relatively inexpensive.

The hotel is really too far away from the historic part of town to walk to, so the person who wishes to sightsee should rent a car or check into taking the bus to town. There is a bus stop on Madonna Road that one can easily walk to to visit the town.

This hotel is really a great place for a business or other conference because of the spacious suite and public areas, great breakfast, and fairly close access to the historic part of San Luis Obispo with its shops and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl_41448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

A smaller version of the Embassy Suites chain. Location is in the back of a shopping mall. Nice inside and the free drinks at Happy Hour is always a nice touch. Signage on the main strip ( Madonna Blvd) could have been better to locate the hotel and the setting is less than ideal but once you are inside all is good.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank TracePac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We were there for a wedding. The reception was held at the hotel and they did a great job with that. The rooms were clean but it looks old. It could really do with some freshening up. It's also in the middle of a shopping mall and a bit far from downtown. We were hoping to walk to downtown. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aprill18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Loved the granite countertops in the bathrooms, dressing area, spacious suites with living rooms. We got two suites for 8 people and were fairly comfortable with two queen beds in each suite. Great complimentary breakfasts with omlettes made to order, oatmeal, muffins, etc. Free drinks at the bar in the early evening. Nice atmosphere in atrium decorated with plants. Nice gym equipment - 3 treadmills and a couple of elyptical machines, free weights, stretching machine... Great value.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russki_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My husband and I usually stay at the Embassy Suites in San Luis Obispo when we need to go to school events at the Cal. Polytechnic State University. This time it was for the freshmen orientation and registration of my daughter, who's enrolling in the Architectural Engineering program. The service levels were as good as they were before. I have also stayed at the Apple Farm and the Madonna Inn (yes - the one with the waterfall toilet) - and so far, the Embassy Suites has provided us with the best value. As with all Embassy Suites, breakfast is included in the rate, and you can get , bacon, scrambled eggs, hash browns, toast, cereal, fresh melon and bananas, muffins, Danish, yoghurt, coffee, tea, a variety of fresh juices and cooked-to-order omelettes. Although the breakfast is not as good as the Hilton's breakfast buffets, it is more than adequate. The fitness center is also OK. Our suite had a living room, a bedroom and a bathroom/toilet. We were also given newspapers in the morning.

The negatives are minor: the room is old but clean. The heater in our room showed its age - it was very loud. It made a chugging/whirring sound. When we complained, a technician was immediately sent to our room to fix it, and his temporary solution was to wrap a tower around some vibrating part, which somewhat mitigated the problem. We ended up turning off the heater in the middle of the night, though, after it started getting noisy again. The hotel promised to address the problem.

Overall, I am satisfied with this Embassy Suites, and have recommended it to some of my friends. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CITravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $125 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing