We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, for the price, but a bit worn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok, for the price, but a bit worn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here recently and paid $95 per night. For that price I suppose it would be greedy to complain. The hotel is functional but the layout with the center courtyard leads to a noisy experience. We stayed over a holiday weekend and the hotel was packed with families. The breakfast area in the courtyard was a mob scene. The noise can be cacophonous at times. This hotel is not anyone's idea of a romantic getaway for area wine tasting.

Room Tip: Pick a room far away from the center courtyard
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they put a recycle bin in the room. I also noticed recycle bins at the entrance to the hotel.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LatinAmericanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear LatinAmericanista;

Thank you for your recent visit to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, we appreciate your business. You are correct, the week of your reservation our hotel was at capacity with many families staying with us to enjoy the beautiful area and weather. The central Atrium can get a bit noisy in the mornings at the peak of our breakfast service. We are very sorry if this put a damper on your "romantic weekend." We would love to have you back in the future where you could experience our hotel in a quieter state.

Thanks again for your visit and we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    365
    215
    96
    56
See reviews for
456
243
39
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Another standard Embassy Suite with the same features as expected: complimentary breakfast buffet, happy hours, adequately equipped and sized suite rooms, and your dated decor.

I will admit, that the breakfast buffet here is a little bit bitter than other Embassy Suites I've stayed at. They actually change their menus and would post each day what they're offering. As a result, I wasn't stuck with eating pastry and omelettes everyday, but there was some variety. Free breakfast is a convenient feature and I'm not going to expect 5 star dining, but they actually do an above average job at this location.

This hotel is located in a strip mall with other restaurants, stores, and conveniences nearby. SLO is a relatively smaller town than most and therefore, most things are within an easy driving distance. Downtown SLO is a 5 minute walk away. It also faces a farm literally adjacent to the parking lot, didn't smell fertilizer though, which is a good thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Halo8;

Thank you for your recent visit. I'm glad that you found our complimentary cook to order breakfast to your liking and that you felt we did an "above average" job. Many guests favorably comment on our location as you did which has many options for shopping, dining and Cal Poly.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Perfect location to take a break if you are traveling on highway 1 between southern and northern California. We liked the breakfast and great sun room experience during morning. There is a open field near the hotel and situated in shopping strip area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Amit G;

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So glad you found our location desirable and a convenient stop between Northern and Southern California. Also glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our sun filled Atrium at breakfast.

All the best and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennett, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The staff here is wonderful, helpful and friendly and more than willing to handle whatever was required. I love the breakfast it is nice to have such a a wide variety of items available and I enjoy not having to rush around and find a breakfast place. I like the convenience of the shopping and freeway access.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jodette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Jodette B;

Well you hit the trifecta of positive guest feedback; great staff, excellent breakfast and location. Thank you! We hope to have you back soon.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Embassy suites was a great choice for a short trip to a family event, convenient to most parts of town and we definitely took advantage of some of the shopping in the mall. included breakfast with made-to-order omelettes was a nice touch and we would have enjoyed trying the evening reception if we hadn't had evening plans. Room was large, good value. We ate lunch one day which wasn't that great - good salads but mains uninspiring. Small pool would have benefited from a change room and service at the desk was a little slow.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Rachel Z;

I am very happy that you found your experience at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo an overall great choice and value. Many guests enjoy our location, nearby shopping and our complimentary cook to order breakfast that you mentioned. Thank you for your feedback regarding your lunch experience. I am excited to announce that within the next two weeks we will be offering a complete new line up of food options for both lunch and dinner by our Executive Chef, Kirk Sowell. Hopefully you will be able to experience our new menu during your next visit to SLO.

Thank you again for your feedback and I wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great place for families. Bedroom 2 queen beds. Large living room area with sofa bed. Walking distance to shopping. About 7/8 of a mile to Madonna Inn, sightseeing attraction. Really enjoyed the daily breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Noelani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Noelani B;

I'm so glad that you found our hotel "great for families." Many guest do find our spacious two bedroom suites very comfortable for family travel. Also glad to see that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary cook to order breakfast. I wish you safe travels and look forward to your next visit to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Decent stay. The breakfast was the same every day, but complimentary. The evening reception was nice and they switched up the fare a bit. The hotel staff were excellent. My only real gripe with this place was the internet. I would've paid for wired or faster/reliable internet as this was a business trip, but that wasn't an option. The connection was non-existent in all but the very front part of my suite, which made work difficult at times. Other than that, I'd stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bandit2Actual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Bandit2Actual;

Thank you for your recent stay at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. I'm glad that you found our staff excellent, that you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast and that you enjoyed our evening reception as well. I will look into the internet challenges you experienced, and thank you for letting us know.

I wish you a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing