We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pray you don't have to make a change in your stay!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hesperia, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“pray you don't have to make a change in your stay!!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had to make a change in my stay from 3 nites to 2nites for 2 rooms. I tried calling before my arrival twice and was transferred to an off shore location and had to hang up because i could not understand what they were saying. Heavy accents. so i waited till I arrived at hotel and they told me if I was to drop one nites room I would have to agree to pay $75/per room penalty. this is the policy they gave "Any change to the arrival date, departure date or room type of this reservation is subject to the hotel's availability at the time the change is requested and may result in a possible rate change or an additional fee". notice the may result and possible. There is nothing written down as to what this mysterious charge will be. They could have charged $1000 if they chose to. Misty said with a smile on her face.that I could pay it or leave. Another thing while i was checking in she was calling my home phone to see if I was going to show up for my reservation., She did not know I was already at the hotel. This was around 5pm. I have never had anybody call my home before, since I had made my reservation with a credit card which guarantees your room will be held for you. It seemed suspicious. There policy is very ambiguous. They can pick and choose who they will charge this mysterious amount and how much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa3241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear teresa3241;

Thank you for sharing your reservation experience with us; guest feedback is very important to us and is always reviewed with our staff. To help clarify, a reservation cancelled outside of 24 hrs. prior to arrival is not subject to the $75 cancellation fee unless booked under an "advanced purchase" rate per Embassy Suites brand standards. I apologize for any confusion this may have caused and I can assure you that we follow brand standard consistently across the board. Regarding being called at home, when the hotel is at peak occupancy we may attempt to call guests day of arrival (with the number provided on the reservation) to verify their reservation and arrival date, this in attempt to balance our inventory for the day.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and I wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    386
    232
    109
    66
See reviews for
498
264
39
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights for a wedding and place was very dated. Very humid rooms. I'd pass one this hotel if your a embassy suites regular. Breakfast staff was also very unfriendly. We will try Madonna Inn next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Johnst14;

Thank you for your recent post. While our hotel is not new we do our very best to maintain it at a very high level. I will check the room you stayed in for humidity; we have not had this comment before so I definitely want to look into this and rectify. I was very disappointed that you found our breakfast staff unfriendly; typically we receive very high marks for friendly staff.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback, much appreciated. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here one night. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel did have a free managers reception however we did not attend since it was over by the time we arrived. We did go to the pool which is very difficult to find. Having a few signs up pointing guests to the direction of the pool would be a much needed improvement. The pool was clean and there were plenty of towels supplied. The breakfast in the morning was tasty. There was an omelet station as well as the usual buffet that Embassy Suites hotels offer. There was plenty of seating since the hotel was not very crowded. Overall, we had no major problems and would return to the hotel in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PinkL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear PinkLOver;

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy that you found our hotel to be clean, our beds comfortable and that you were able to take advantage of our newly updated pool & fitness center. I'm sorry you were not able to take advantage of our complimentary evening reception but happy that you found our breakfast "tasty." Your comments regarding the pool being difficult to find is duly noted and we will look at making some improvements in this area.

Again, thank you for your posted comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to SLO. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I always enjoy staying at embassy suites, love the big spacious rooms. Why 4/5 well, I enjoy my private time, while my kids have there's. unfortunately the tv in the living room only had reception to analog stations only, I'd say 5 stations. Very disappointed, I had to watch tv land or the news stations. Our room was very far from the elevators, down a long corridor. Kind of eerie if you ask me. Other than that the beds were great, except for our sofa bed which felt like it may break if a heavy person was to lay on it. I don't mind the extra storage area in the bedroom but I found it to be kind of odd to have an old tv armoire along with a regular armoire still in the room, the tv now sits on top of a tall dresser, just odd. I don't know about spending $149/night here? The Doubletree in grand junction was only $94/night. Oh but I do love the location, it's perfect for anyone wanting to just walk to a mall. Thought it was weird at first but ended up loving the location. The staff here is also great, a waiter on my first night was gracious enough to not charge me for my meal because unknowingly I order the salmon pasta which was made with a lobster base, not mentioned on the menu, which I am allergic too! He was kind enough to rush me another meal, which was the club house sandwich, that was Delish! If not for the tv problem, I'd give this site 5 stars

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaykunilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jaykunilee;

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. It sounds like overall you had a great stay and that you truly enjoyed our location near convenient shopping. I was also pleased to see that we took good care of you during your evening meal and that you enjoyed our staff. We will definitely look into the TV issues you experienced; thank you for letting us know.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Noisey wall paper thin, front desk and restaurant staff not helpful. We had to go looking for a waitress the one time we ate in. Reservations misrepresented the rooms we requested adjoining then found out they don't exist. Room was not ready at check-in we had to wait 2 hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Marilyn H;

I was very disappointed to learn of your experience while staying at our hotel, particularly regarding the desk staff and restaurant staff not being helpful. Typically our associates receive rave reviews from our guests and they take great pride in the service which they provide. I will definitely share your feedback with those two departments so that we can continue to improve. I am very sorry for any miscommunication regarding adjoining rooms, the noise you experienced and for your delayed check-in time. Our check-in time is 3:00 p.m. and we do our very best to accomodate all arrivals.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns. I wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We always prefer to stay at the Embassy Suites whenever we travel. It's a usually a no-brainer. Large well appointed rooms, made to order breakfast,evening reception and other ammenities keep us coming back. The front desk staff here were very nice, professional and courteous of course. However, I cannot say the same of the short order cooks we encountered in the morning while ordering our omlettes. He was rude and unwelcoming when my husband asked what his choices were for his omlette. I only mention it because the same cook was very rude to me as well & that is not how I expect to be greeted or treated in any place of business.
The rooms true were a bit dated but not a huge deal for us but the beds were AWEFUL. It was like trying to sleep on a bed stuffed with tube socks, just terrible. The location of this property was strange as well...behind a strip mall backing up to the freeway ?? I asked for a quiet room away from the elevator and atrium, so my room faced the freeway instead. Given the location of this property, the condition of the most basic service provided; its BEDS I would expect a significant drop in its price. You are not getting what you pay for at this Embassy Suites location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFirewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear ChicagoFirewater;

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I was very pleased, however, that you found our front desk staff to be nice, professional and courteous; I know they will appreciate that feedback. In regards to the short order cooks that you mentioned I will personally share your feedback with our Executive Chef; I know he shares the same passion for service that I do. This is not acceptable service and you have my sincere apologies. Regarding our beds, it tends to be a catch twenty two. Many guests love our beds, and there are others, such as yourself, that find them less comfortable. When the hotel receives an update I'm sure the bedding package will be included. And finally, our hotel location can be a little confusing in that it was built as part of a shopping complex and the hotel is located in the back of the complex.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We love Embassy Suites but the last one we stayed at did not have movies on demand and this one did. We had a long drive down and we were not up for leaving the room for dinner the first night so we got room service. It was quickly delivered and nice simple food and we picked a fun movie too.
Breakfast was great. I liked that they had a special option that changed each morning. Each day we usually had the special, french toast, eggs benedict and I forgot the first days special .

The staff was nice. They have a new manager who helped me when i discovered that I had not read the cancelation fee for leaving early and it was indeed in the fine print of the reservation. I now know to make two reservations in advance when I am not certain the number of days we need to stay. I will now make the two reservations and then cancel the one that does not work rather then modify one. The modifying charge can vary from $75 to $$$.

The location is right off the freeway so we could head to the Pismo Beach and surf each day quickly and easily.

I would stay here again. Our room was on the third floor in a corner so it was very quiet. The room was a standard clean room with the refrigerator and microwave. The price was great for a family of four with the full breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvroadmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Luvroadmagic;

Thank you for the many kind words and compliments. Sounds like you had a great dinner and a movie experience. Many guests compliment us on our complimentary breakfast and take advantage of the cook to order items; I'm glad you found our breakfast a great value. I was also pleased to see that you appreciated us working with you regarding your reservation, that you found your room comfortable, quiet and that you thought our hotel was an overall great value.

I wish you and your family all the best and hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
863 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing