We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has the whole package!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
home
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It has the whole package!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Actually I have not stayed at an Embassy Suites since the 80's. I couldn't be happier with this location. We checked in promptly at 3pm with little wait. We went too our room and everything was perfect and clean. Plenty of drawers and closet space. Love the extra living room space with a TV and desk. It feels like you are home and not in a one room hotel. Immediately we took advantage of the happy hour, not just wine and beer but mixed drinks too. We totally enjoyed the relaxed setting in the center of the hotel and just people watched. We also were able to order chicken wings, and sliders for an added fee, but reasonable and worth it. The next morning we were anxious to try the made to order breakfast. Fully stocked buffet setting with a chef for special orders, eggs, french toasts etc. We couldn't be happier with our stay. Our room was quiet at night and no problems. Since our visit I am trying to arrange another stay at an Embassy Suites and take a couple of the grandkids. Great place for families too. Plenty of wineries within a few miles in SLO and Paso Robles. Also we enjoyed walking downtown near the Mission. I am so glad I cancelled my reservation at Apple Farm. We visited it and so depressing and not upbeat like the Embassy suites.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor with no problems
See more room tips
Green Features: In order to help with the environment, we did not need maid service. Our stay was two days and we had plenty of stocked items so it was not necessary to clean our room. More of a hassle to put away everything for our room to be serviced.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizy5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear dizy5150;

Our sincere thanks for your kind remarks regarding your experience at San Luis Obispo. Sounds like you had an amazing time and truly enjoyed the many amenities the hotel and the city have to offer. I am particularly glad that you found our guest room suites perfect and clean and that you felt it was your home away from home. And yes, many guests find our complimentary breakfast an exceptional value.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to seeing you next time. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    364
    215
    96
    56
See reviews for
456
241
39
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The suites are spacious and clean. I slept on the sofa bed which was comfortable. The manager's reception is a nice perk as is the cooked to order breakfast each morning. We used many of the meeting rooms, all comfortable. We also had a catered luncheon and a dinner as part of our conference, both were very well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear BW Bradford:

Thank you for your recent stay at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo and for sharing your positive comments regarding your stay. Many guests find our guest room suites comfortable and clean and our complimentary breakfast and evening reception a great value. I was also glad to read that you found our meeting rooms comfortable and that the food & beverage we offered were well done.

Thanks again for sharing your comments. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We took Amtrak down for a weeklong visit. One thing we learned about the train station is that cabs are hard to come by. So we called the hotel and asked for their shuttle. They weren't able to provide one so they called a taxi for us and reimbursed our taxi the moment we checked in...NICE!

Also very convenient is that they have Avis rental car right at the hotel.

Our first night the shower had a backed drain in the tub. I called room service and the promptly sent a repairman plus they gave us a $50 credit for dinner for the trouble, which was much appreciated.

Overall the room did its job, it was clean, comfy and we had very few problems and if we did they were promptly and pleasantly addressed.

The staff made this hotel downright pleasant to stay here which was great.

Also I LOVED their gym it was state of the art with new, fancy cardio machines, weights, mats, clean towels, etc. I worked out several times there.

I'd love to stay again if we're in SLO and sincerely appreciate the staff's efforts to make our stay a good one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stimpee525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear stimpee525;

I can't tell you how pleased I was to learn how well our staff took care of you during your recent visit. We strive hard to create the perfect guest experience. Though we fall short from time to time we do our very best to ensure every guest leaves satisfied. I was particularly glad to read that you found our staff "downright pleasant." And yes, we recently renovated our fitness center and pool areas. Many guests enjoy them on a daily basis and we are receiving many positive comments regarding these areas.

My sincere thanks for sharing your positive experience and we look forward to your next visit. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This Embassy Suites is one of the older Embassy Suites but it is well maintained and clean. The rooms are comfortable and the furnishing are in good condition. The morning breakfast is very good. Dinner at the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeWayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear DeWayne S;

Thank you for posting your positive comments regarding your recent stay. While we are a bit older we take great pride in maintaining the property at a high level. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner experience.

Look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel! It could use a bit of updating, but the rooms are large and comfortable, there are free drinks each evening at the Manager's Reception, and there's a huge (albeit pretty meh) breakfast buffet included in your rate.

If you like your peace and quiet, ask for a room that's set back a bit from the interior courtyard. It gets pretty loud during the aforementioned breakfast and reception, but is otherwise mostly empty.

There are big box stores nearby. Downtown is just a short drive away. And everyone we encountered seemed to be having a great stay.

Would definitely come back.

Only issue was that the "Free Gas Card" rate we selected online showed up in our confirmation as the Business rate (which we don't need, because we already get WiFi included as HHonors members). When I called the hotel to get this corrected, the woman I spoke with said that we did in fact have the gas rate booked and no changes were required. This resulted in major confusion when we checked in, as the person there insisted that we were booked under the Business rate. We ultimately got the rate we initially wanted, but it's worth double checking your confirmation details before arrival.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and were put in a suite that was set back a bit from the interior courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear robinmaytravels;

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent trip to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. I was delighted to read that you found our guest room suites comfortable and that you were able to take full advantage of our complimentary breakfast and evening reception. And yes, you are correct, we are just a short jaunt to downtown and shopping.

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites and we hope to see you on your next trip to the area.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you don't mind the short drive into downtown San Luis Obispo. It is one of the nicer hotels in the area and has a hearty free breakfast and an extra sitting room attached to the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Tracy B;

Thank you for your comments and it sounds like we were able to accomodate your location, breakfast and guest room suite needs. And thank you for the compliment of being one of the nicer hotels in town.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We overnighted at this hotel last week - and picked it mainly because we were arriving by train at night - and leaving the next morning with a rental car. The Avis rental car office is located in the hotel. We were picked up by the Embassy Suites shuttle - I called about 5 minutes before train was due in- and they arrived shortly after. Checked into suite- very comfortably appointed. Shower had good water pressure and the room was quiet. Ate in the hotel due to late arrival. Didn't expect much - but the food was good and reasonable. My only complaint was that there were very few light options to choose from. I had the chicken pailard salad which was good. The morning breakfast buffet was varied and good ( I have not stayed in an ES before - so this might be standard ). They had an option for a made to cook breakfast as well. All was quick and easy.

We left and drove to Cambria to spend two nights visiting HC and Environs. Returned back to Embassy Suites to return car - my GPS gave wrong directions- and we were quite tight to meet the train. I phoned ahead- about 5 minutes in advance- and the van was ready and waiting for us. Tried to tip the lady who took us (sorry didn't get her name) she refused tip. I think it might have been a manager?

All in all - impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chichichicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear chichichicago;

I was very pleased to read your positive comments regarding your stay with us. The Avis office located in our hotel is very convenient and utilized by many guests. I was also happy to see that we were able to pick you up from and deliver you to the train station in a timely manner. Yes, we offer complimentary breakfast to all guests which is considered a great value as it is part of the room rate.

Again, thank you for your comments and I wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing