We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    381
    225
    104
    59
See reviews for
483
253
39
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great place !! Rooms were nice and quite. Breakfast was spectacular !! Omlete bar, sausage and bisquits, french toast, pancakes, you name it they had it. This was a stop over on our way to Pacific Grove. Would love to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Happyinthedesert,

Thank you and we are delighted that your stay, en-route to lovely Pacific Grove, was brilliant. Really happy that your experiences during our legendary complimentary breakfast was superb.

We all are very much looking forward to your next stay, and as you made mention to, perhaps a little longer next time.

Thank you, safe travels and until the next visit to San Luis Obispo.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Don't let the Madonna Road address confuse you--it's best acessed from Dilidio Drive or behind the shopping area where the Bed Bath and Beyond and World market is. The suites are well maintained and nice sized. Furniture a bit worn looking in places. The breakfasts are wonderful. Manager's reception in the evening could be upgraded a bit from the few crudites and chips and salsa and party mix offered although it is nice that they offer beer and wine and a few "nibbles", I'm just comparing to other manager socials and it seeme lacking. There are several decent chain restaurants within walking distance also nice for a tired travelor.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevators. There are no "good view rooms" as you overlook the mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sunny405,

Thank you for being our guest and am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and some of the Embassy Suites legendary amenities. Thank you also for informing our future guests of the opportunity we have regarding our actual street location. We were actually attached to an indoor mall and had a tremendous amount of visibility from Madonna Road, however when the mall was transformed, as it stands today, we still have the same address and the new shops were given new one's, certainly helps them with the GPS directions.

Again thank you and we all look forward to your next visit to San Luis Obispo.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Difficult to find the location, as it is in a large shopping mall. The room was large and the sitting room was separated from the bedroom which was nice. Very outdated. Toilet ran. It was a sold out weekend in town, so the rate was ridiculously high at $200.
Staff was nice.
Some extras:
Breakfast included in price and included omelets made to order (although I didn't have one).
Also, evening drink and snacks included in lobby from 5:30-7:30.

It was all OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Purpleskis,

Thank you for choosing our Embassy Suites in San Luis Obispo and we know you have alternatives here, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the space and evening and morning legendary amenities.

I am terribly sorry for the running facilities - if your time allows to inform us of the room location you stayed we will get this immediately corrected, and again sorry that we did not during your stay. If your time allows to e-mail or contact me directly I will correct.

I do hope, should your plans bring you back to San Luis Obispo you will allow us the opportunity to ensure perfection.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Quick check in and out: great bedding and nice towels; nice comp evening reception. Lobby and reception area very comfortable and inviting. Located in a major outdoor shopping mall with a great store selection.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that front the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear DianaB,

Thank you so kindly for taking your valuable time to congratulate the team here in San Luis Obispo, we are delighted that your experience was as you expected.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Embassy Suites in SLO is a little pricey in comparison to other hotels, however, you do get a lot of extras. Make sure you make it for the "Manager's social" where you can have free drinks and food, and nothing beats their breakfast! Rooms seem to be newly renovated, bathrooms could use updating. But overall a place I will probably stay each visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awhtmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear awhtmthns,

Thank you for being our guest and am delighted that you had a fantastic time here in San Luis Obispo. We take great pride in our hotel and team and all the amenities the Embassy Suites Brand delivers daily to our guests.

We look forward very much to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the spectacular Central Coast.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The facilities are dated but the staff and restaurant are first class. We went to the manager's reception and had complimentary wine and well drinks along with snacks. Then we went in to dinner. The restaurant was exceptional, the waiter was excellent and got a good tip. One of the meals was sub par and we were immediately reimbursed for the cost of that dinner but we tipped the waiter on the full amount because the service had been so excellent.

Room Tip: Most rooms are dated with 70' style furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear aimswanson,

It is fantastic to hear from you and that your recent stay with us was excellent, I am so delighted that you had the opportunity to meet and experience the evening reception and the Greenhouse Grill and Cafe team. I am very proud to be a part of this team and your congratulatory comments will certainly be shared with everyone here.

We had a full guest suite renovation in 2008 with the exception of the hard furnishings in the guest suite which will be changed in our next refurbishment. We continue to update and improve monthly with recently installed new fitness centre equipment, HD service in guest suites, and a new presentation program for the legendary complimentary cooked to order breakfast.

Thank you for being our guest and we (especially) the Greenhouse Grill and Cafe Team look forward to your next visit to San Luis Obispo.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,572 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing