We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good experience at Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for one night so that our son could tour Cal Poly SLO. It was basically fine. The location was a bit hidden (inside a shopping center). They initially assigned us a room that was right across from the elevator; when we complained they quickly found us another room that was quiet. The window didn't have a screen which discouraged us from leaving it open. They didn't have a little shop on the ground floor like Homewood Suites do, that would have been nice.

But otherwise everything was fine. The free breakfast was very good, and the big atrium was pleasant. If our son decides to attend Cal Poly, I suspect we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OldGuyfromBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2008

The property had its signature atrium with glass elevators, although only four floors. The rooms were clean and good sized. The location was great for shopping and close to a Tahoe Joes where we had a great dinner.

The Manager's Special had excellent drink selection, however, the snacks were less than some other Embassy's - only cold popcorn, chips, pretzels, carrots, and celery.

The cook-to-order breakfast was excellent and had many choices for omlettes. There weren't any pastries, bagels, or muffins, which was missed by my youngest (not to mention there was a flag stating "pastries" at the breakfast).

The price was right and with a teenager, we really like having the separate room with a pull out couch. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USTraveler0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

This has to be one of the best Embassy Suites, and I've stayed in a lot of them all across the USA. This property has newer rooms and better bathrooms/vanities than other Embassy Suites. The interior is fresher and brighter than most. The breakfast setup is better than any I've experienced in this chain. The evening manager's reception was pleasant, as expected. The location, while not downtown, is quite convenient. The only noticeable negative here is the location of the elevators too close to the front desk. Persons standing in line for check-in will automatically block access to the elevators for other guests, but this is simply a design flaw that's not a reflection on the quality of the hotel or staff.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DavidLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

Very happy with this location- we stayed for one night during our trek down the coast from San Francisco to LA. This location is well maintained- very clean with an indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

The staff was very nice and friendly. Our room was spacious with a sofa and table/chairs. In a past visit to SLO we've stayed at the Apple Farm Inn (don't waste your money), but found their staff to be rude and disputes with the room bill are impossible to resolve.
Embassy Suites has a great free buffet breakfast that includes a wonderful omlette bar, pancakes, waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon.....really the works.
We've tried a couple of places in Pismo (Dolphin Bay) and in SLO and I would rate this the highest and plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CalPolyParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

A great hotel, excellent staff, free breakfast and afternoon wine and beer. Close to all local wineries and cal state slo. Morro bay, Avila beach and Pismo beach within minutes.
Can beat the price or the location.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jsdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We found the staff friendly and the hotel was conveniently located off of the 101. It had the standard Embassy Suites layout and offered an excellent breakfast. It is located as part of a shopping centre which is not the most convenient. We must report that the carpeting in our room was stained to the point of being troubling.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
738 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $126 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing