We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware they change your room type”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware they change your room type”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Not very happy when I have a room booked for two months when I get to the hotel they change the room type to fit their needs not mine. They said they were sold out and their was nothing they could do. Oh yes I was very unhappy. I had two rooms booked. The hotel hide a bed was very uncomfortable 3" thick mattress every time you move you felt a spring in your back. This must be a management problem at this hotel only because I have no problem at other Embassy Suites Hotels. The room had a few issues you could not close the bathroom door it's would stick and wouldn't close. When speaking with a maintenance person he says ya sometimes they just get stuck! Really PS Being a Hilton honors member didn't help either!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Ruhk,

I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience and challenges that you experienced during your arrival and recent stay here in San Luis Obispo. It is certainly not a general practice to change suite type from your reservation and I will be looking into this to determine what exactly happened to ensure we correct for not only future guests but to attend to your experience, although after the fact, and again I sincerely apologise for this.

Our sofa beds were changed in a recent suite renovation and whilst they are a sofa they of course are and should be a comfortable alternative for a bed, and this certainly should be the case if we indeed placed you in a king suite and your needing two queen beds.

I appreciate your commentary and please be assured that this allows us to make things much better than before.

Thank you and I will be contacting you if you would please furnish me with your confirmation number or name on your reservation with the date of your stay.

Tim
Tim Billing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    382
    225
    104
    59
See reviews for
484
253
39
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel stay. Hubby on business and me along for the ride. Our room provided a great place for him to work without disturbing my slumber in our comfy bedroom. Drinks and appetizers in the evening in a gorgeous lobby and everything you can imagine for breakfast made for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyRoswell_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear DaisyRoswell_GA,

Fabulous to hear that you had a fantastic stay, our two room suites are quite nice as you mentioned for privacy whether here on business or pleasure. Our breakfast and evening reception are one of the most brilliant reason's for staying with the Embassy Suites Brand and especially all taking place in our Atrium.

We thank you again for your kind words and we promise to continue delivering a great guest experience.

Thank you.
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter scored this amazing deal through Price Line. It was well situated, not far from some of the attractions we were interested in seeing. The suite was very clean and nicely decorated. It had 2 queen beds so was perfect for 3 people. The free cocktail hour was a bonus, actually it was more like 3 hours and they had a table with snacks also. The common areas were well kept as was the work out room. The free breakfast was really amazing. We were able to customize our omelets which were delicious. Was sad that we could only stay one night. We did have a little trouble finding it as it is located in back of a shopping center. There was plenty of parking so after sightseeing and dinner we had no trouble finding a place to park. True enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Suz843,

Delighted to hear that you had a brilliant stay and that you enjoyed some of the legendary amenities of the Embassy Suite Brand. We certainly take pride in our hotel and our guests experience and am very glad to hear that you had a fantastic time.

We look forward to the next opportunity to see you and hope that it will be longer than one (1) night.

Thank you
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I arrived late and without any luggage thanks to the airlines, the staff here made up for that. Our room was great, and the front desk rounded up as many substitute supplies for us as they could. Howard at the bar deserves a raise just for listening to us and actually making us laugh after all.In the two days we waited for luggage the staff became like part of the family always commenting when they saw us in the same clothes.When we finally did get our bags they all cheered with us! The hotel and all it's amenities are top notch also,and the complaints about it being in a shopping center actually becomes a plus when you have no clothes! Thanks to Embassy San Luis Obispo for turning a nightmare into a positive. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dt2573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Dt2573,

I am delighted that finally your luggage arrived and that during your stay the team here in San Luis Obispo delivered excellence. We appreciate you being our guest and we look forward to the next opportunity to see you. We have congratulated Howard and the entire team for their delivery of brilliant service.

Thank you again.
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After almost 20 years, in using every type of Hilton in every continent, for the first time we were bumped, and put in a poor substitute elsewhere. After travelling 200 miles with my family, it was not what we expected.

After saying that, the manager made a good job of explaining his team's failings, and compensated us adequately in the end.

As a result, I would give them another chance, as I am sure that he has already learned a hard lesson, and will not let it happen again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear kmcottrell,

Thank you for your comment and agree we have indeed made sure that our internal operations have been corrected. I have appreciated our past commentary, your honestly, opinions, and understanding and thank you for that. I again apologise for your and families experience and I do certainly appreciate your support in allowing us to accommodate you in the future.

I look forward to the next opportunity and remain dedicated to every guest experience.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

In this small community, the Embassy Suites is a good place to stay. Although the address indicates it is on Madonna Road, you have to turn off onto Dalidio Dr to get to it, it is behind the shopping center on Madonna Road. Even though the steaks at Embassy Suites are hard to beat, if you do need to go out to eat, many choices are nearby. Rooms are typical Embassy Suites rooms, large and comfortable for a business stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear TXLAtraveler,

It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for your comments on our location, food, and your experience. We take an awful lot of pride in our hotel and we very much appreciate your being our guest. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by our address, we were originally part of San Luis Obispo's in-door mall and when they took it down we of course remained but alas so did our or actually their address of 333 Madonna Road. So if you are using GPS it does not direct you to our hotel entrance but to the beginning of the SLO Promenade.

Thank you again and I remain confident that I will be able to change our address to assist future guest arrivals.
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Checked in with wife and baby on 9/8/12.

Pros:
-Great staff, everyone we talked to was helpful and courteous. Really impressed with this.
-The usual Embassy perks: free happy hour, free breakfast.
-And really, the free breakfast is reasonable, much better than your typical hotel free breakfast.
-A couple free water bottles, coupons for wifi and the in-lobby Peet's.
-Pool is fine, not sure what others were complaining about.

Cons:
-Location. At the back of strip mall, so if you need to pick up something or grab a bite, that might be good. However, it's hard to find the main entrance (Madonna road address is misleading for you GPS users, the hotel is actually about 1/3 mile off Madonna) as you meader through the mall looking for it. Finally, one side of the hotel abuts 101.
-Room lighting, the sitting room is pretty bleak. You can't open the windows as they face the public hallway.
Can't reserve a crib. We were able to get one no problem at check in (the wonderful check in person had one sent up within 10 minutes of check in), but when we made the reservation we were told we they couldn't guarantee one, so we ended up bringing a travel crib as a back up. That's a pain, just guarantee me one already.
-Dated facility, but clean and certainly fair for the price/space for a weekend in SLO.

Other:
Had room 402 for $185 plus tax, with front door right in front of elevator banks. This was a, initial concern but turns out the doors were heavy enough to keep out the sound.
Seems like some folks interpret the free happy hour thing a little too liberally and drink a lot. There were at least 8-10 empty drinks in front of a couple guests. Not hotel's fault and I don't care if someone else wants to drink heavily, but there was a constant line of about 5 minutes to get a drink. Maybe limiting the number of drinks would cut down on the boozing and the line... Or just give every room a $20 bar credit?

Overall: will stay again and recommend to friends. The problems were far outweighed by the value and space.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1gr8plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear 1gr8plan,

Really appreciate your comments to your recent experience, we are proud and delighted that we delivered everything within our control, the team, cleanliness, and of course the legendary Embassy Suites value. Our location although convenient to downtown and within the SLO promenade is a little tough to find, this is due to originally being the East anchor to the original indoor mall and when we were detached we remained with the same address that GPS finds, but it brings you to the front of the SLO Promenade, sorry for the inconvenience.

I also apologise for our not being able to confirm a crib and that I will ensure that all the team understands that we do indeed have this available to arriving guests, this is also an option on the Embassy Suites brand site along with additional towels and other items you may need upon/prior to your arrival.

The evening reception, one of our brand pillars along with your complimentary cooked to order breakfast, is very popular to say the least, a lovely setting in the atrium, a time to relax and re-visit the days activities. We only limit guests to two (2) drinks per visit so as to ensure as speedy service as possible, we will certainly make sure that we are removing empties a little quicker than we did this evening.

Again, thank you for being our guest and we all look forward to seeing you again in SLO.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,576 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing