We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The best hotel staff at any Embassy i have stayed at. The rooms are beautiful. Deffinatly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our property, it is certainly our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    365
    215
    96
    56
See reviews for
456
243
39
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Rooms are large, super clean and plenty of parking. Very near shopping if you forget to pack anything. The only thing wrong is they don't have an outdoor pool, but this seems par for the course for most hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor side rooms for a great view. Breakfast is very, very good. They also do a ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel! If only we had more outdoor pool days in San Luis Obispo, we could have an outdoor pool! We have lots of extra amenities at the Front Desk too, so dont hesitate to ask before running to the nearest shop next time. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I stay up at Central Coast two or three times a year. In 2011 we stayed in May and I wrote a glowing review of the SLO Embassy Suites.
We stayed again in November of 2011 and had an equally wonderful time.
Our June, 2012 visit was adequate but a far different experience than the last two times we stayed. The room had stains on the carpet and on the chairs. The windows had accumulated grime on them just from not being cleaned. The staff seemed far less trained and hospitable than our previous visits and there seemed to be a general lack of attention to detail. When I go to a hotel, even a large chain hotel, I want to feel like an invited guest, not a customer. I didn't feel like an invited guest during this trip.
Having said all of that, the overall experience was adequate. It is a great hotel for families. We enjoyed seeing so many people having fun at the manager's reception and we loved seeing the dog owners trot their pets in and out the doors. I am very happy it is a pet friendly hotel, even though we don't travel with ours.
All in all it was ok, no major complaints, it was just not up to the high standards that were met on our last two visits in 2011. I don't know if there has been a management change but I so hope our next visit in the fall will live up to our 2011 experiences.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BolsaChicaMoonDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our property. Your review is a great reminder that we can never stop “pushing for perfect” I am pleased to report that we have not had any management changes, though with the recent Cal Poly Graduation we have lots of new team members on staff! We are constantly working with them to ensure the best guest experience and hope that by your return this fall we will be back up to our normal guest expectation. Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and best wishes for the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

A/c was so so. Bed was comfortable. Rooms were clean. Pool was COLD and noisy. Manager's reception was the worst. They opened up the liquor cabinet. You look, you like, you PAY!.. Only the cheap liquors, one of each, were free. Only 3 beers were free. Snacks were meager...popcorn, some veggies and chips.
Breakfast buffet was very good. However, the price of the room for an area not on the beach, just halfway or so between LA and San Francisco, was way overpriced. $199.00 plus a lot of taxes. I will not stay here again. Oh, and everybody's GPS locks in on the sign on Madonna road. The ES is way in the back of a shopping center.

Room Tip: Stay on the outside wings of the sparse atrium. Inside would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skidaddy74012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we of course appreciate all of our guests feedback. We are competitively priced for our market and watch prices and trends very closely to make sure that we offer the best value to our guest visiting the San Luis Obispo area. We are very much a weekend destination during the summer, so for best rates and availability reservations should be made Sunday-Thursday, off season rates are considerably lower on the weekends. Best wishes for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

very nice hotel, friendly staff. The free breakfast and evening drinks and snacks were awesome!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest again in the near future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed one night, on the first floor, and because of the layout of the hotel with the common area where breakfast is served right in the front of youth rooms, we were woken up to screaming children at 6:30 am. Dishes changed, music played, for $189, it was a miserable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stryker06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are terribly sorry to hear that your stay was not the experience that you were hoping for. It is true that we are a very family friendly property, and do have high volumes of children through the summer months. You are always welcome to request rooms in the corners of the hotel, which can help with this challenge, and we of course do our absolute best to accommodate all of our guest requests. Please feel free to contact me directly when booking your next stay. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The best feature of all Embassy's to us is breakfast! Cooked to order PLUS a buffet bar! WOW! Also, you cannot beat the 2 rooms! Our 6 year old son LOVES having his "own" room! OH! And there's an IN door pool!!! No matter what time of year, kids (& mom & dad) can have fun in the water!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Glad to hear you had such a wonderful time, we appreciate having you as our guest and look forward to your next stay in S.L.O. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Address: 333 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive complimentary breakfast and cocktails & snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The on-site restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access (charge included). Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing