We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada San Luis Obispo
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My room air conditioning did not work. So just to make sure I wasn't the one that didn't know how to operate it, I called the front desk person for assistance. He tried and he was not able to get the AC to work (no cold air). the motel was fully booked so I couldnt get another room. Ok, that was understandable.

I asked him to leave a message with the Manager (Jocylan) for the next day and he did. I spoke to Jocylen the next day and she said she would tell the manager about my experience (my stay was only for 1 night). I had expected a partial credit on the room but after placing 4 followup calls throughout the week after my stay, no one would call me back to tell me they were even sorry the AC breaking. And yes, I'd left my telephone number with them each time.

At this point, I've given up. $100+ for a motel that is average.

Service is absolutely poor. Let's hope nothing breaks if you decide to lodge there...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatekeeper36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 737 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

Had to be one of the nicer places for the money. The room was excellent, clean,quite with the drapes and windows closed and easy to find. I positively will stay here again when we visit the wine country of the central coast..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radrhod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

The Ramada Hotel is the all in one place to stay for me simply because I enjoy the comfort of the room, amenities and the safe surroundings. I love being able to walk out of my door and enjoy the fine cuisine across the way. Whenever I stay here and I do alot, the clerks are always courteous and helpful and I will continue to recommend this Hotel above any other.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

I have to admit when we first drove up I was a little worried because it is right next to the 101 freeway onramp/ freeway with a lot of traffic going by. I asked for a room not so close to the road and they were happy to accommodate me. Our room was clean however it was a non-smoking room that smelled smokey. Not my favorite thing but I needed a convenient place to sleep and take a shower. The bed was comfortable and once I turned the wall fan on... it was the best night sleep I have ever had at any motel. And I have stayed at really nice places at Disneyland and in Vegas. So that is saying a lot!! I am not saying it is the Bellagio or anything... its a motel. You get what you pay for, but it was clean and exactly what I needed for the $$. Let's see... The bed was comfy, the towels were thin and scratchy, the soaps were functional, TP not the best... but what do you expect. The continental breakfast was adequate. My husband really liked the danishes!! If you want something fancier you are going to have to pay for it... but it was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speechieteachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I stayed here They charged mandatory $1.00 plus tax for safe box in the room. Not disclosed on the confirmed reservation. The funny thing is, my room does not have a safe box.
When I complained, they said, nothing they can do, it is set by the management at Ramada. To me, it is a extra profit for the hotel. What a rip off. They finally agree to refund the safe box not until I told them to file a complain to corporate office.
To me, it not about the money, it is a chump change, but the principle that matters. What should I pay for a service that is not provided to me?

And also, around 1:00 am, I heard someone screaming in the parking lot. I was to tired to call the front desk, luckily it did not last long.

Will not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedanforsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I wanted to give this hotel a fair chance. It had a 2 bdrm suite (called 3 bdrm, but actually 2!) that would accommodate a larger group, so I decided to give it a try. With 3 young kids we are usually very sensitive to the cleanliness of hotels and we would not choose to stay here again. The room was a chilly 58 degrees when we arrived and the water heater was not turned on, so we did not have hot water for showers in the morning.
Bottom line: Habitable if it is the only option, but definitely would not recommend!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momo423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Disturbed many times by noisy guests behaving badly in the early morning hours (in pool and parking lot). Called front desk several times and after 3rd time they took our complaint seriously. If this is your destination, don't forget to pack earplugs and sleeping pills.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patanddil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
473 reviews
3.2 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Address: 1000 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $66 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing