We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was alrite...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada San Luis Obispo
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“It was alrite...”
Reviewed March 14, 2006

It wasn't great, but it wasn't bad. Stayed here one night. Good price, although they ran out of breakfast the following morning.

It's a good location, right next to the freeway for easy access. I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank albutt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    77
    150
    171
    183
See reviews for
301
131
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2005

Right out of late 60's & very overpriced!! A so-called "suite" was over $150 for one night, thin walls with multiple doors to other noisy rooms. Thread-bare worn blanket on a thin, uncomfortable mattress. Bedroom heat provided by a single, antique wall heater. Walked out on the so-called continental one-muffin breakfast. I will avoid Ramada Inns based on this horrible experience.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
770 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2005

I checked the real estate prices and this is a pretty ritzy area. So I don't expect the local motels to skimp on the breakfast bar or try to push off an extra dollar on the bill for the safe I didn't use. I certainly think they could spend some dimes to reconstruct the driveway somehow to widen the exit in the event I was driving something larger than a Hyundai.

Note- don't try to park here if you're driving a mid-size to large vehicle. Of course, you could exit through the double-wide entrance but, take care, because the motel is on the access road to 101 south!

That being said, there is juice on the breakfast bar, but they keep it in the creamer! Otherwise, there's some coffee and lots of sugary danish.

Since the safe was simply an option to use, I had it removed from my bill.

And before you book, remember, the motel sits by the highway. There might be noise!

What about the room itself? Take your chances. Mine was OK. But just simple motel style. If you're unlucky to show up during homecoming for Cal Poly, I bet it will be pretty noisy!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2005

The motel was clean and tidy and had everything we would expect (toiletries, iron etc). The staff were friendly, the room was a reasonable size and was just a 15 minute walk from the centre of the town. The breakfast was very simple; just muffins and coffee, but most motels seem to offer something similar and for $62 per night we were not complaining! We certainly stayed in more expensive motels which were far inferior. In Britain it would not be possible to get a room for anything like that price.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blinkersguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Shasta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2005

This place is a dump! The room was not very clean. They were very cheap on the soap.

Their contiental breakfast was a joke. I felt bad for families that had children because they did not offer anything to drink for children. All they had was coffee and a couple of tiny muffins. Families would come in and look at the breakfast and walk out.

We came home that night and found our room locked out. After checking with the front desk, they insisted we only booked for one night! They said we could have a "suite" for $250! As I began to try and get them to give us our room back, my husband pulled me aside and said this was one of the worse hotels he had every stayed out and let's get out of here! We ended up in Morro Bay and found a very nice place and enjoyed the rest of our stay. We will never, never go back there again!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank siskiyous96094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2005

I had my doubts about Ramada since the one in Orlando was not a nice one, but this Ramada is totally different. Clean, tight, no smell, nice looking.
This is exactly what I expected for such a price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2005

I don't stay in too many hotels and Inns but I enjoyed the amenities at this Ramada Inn. The internet was free. I had a microwave and a refrigerator in my room. I expected less for the money I paid and got more. That's OK with me.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#23 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Inn & Suites
San Luis Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Property: Ramada San Luis Obispo
Address: 1000 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing