We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE DISHONEST MANAGEMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada San Luis Obispo
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Management is dishonest -- beware when staying in this motel. Crux is that they charged us two rooms when we only stayed in one, refusing to refund money when the mistake was on the part of hotel staff.

Full story as follows:

We were on vacation, driving from San Francisco to San Diego along Route 1 during the Christmas holidays. On the night of December 27, we decided to make a stop in San Luis Obispo, CA and find a place to stay. We stopped at the Ramada because we had read positive reviews on Expedia and upon checking with the front desk and finding out that they had one room remaining for the night, we decided to make our reservation (and full payment) on Expedia.

The clerk, named Victor, then found our reservation on his system, confirmed that it had come through, and gave an information form to my boyfriend to fill out, as well as asked for his credit card and ID for their records, which my boyfriend provided. Victor told us that although we booked a King bed room on Expedia, the only remaining room had 2 Queen beds, therefore we would have to take that room, which was no problem for us.

The next morning, we receive a call from the front desk to stop by before we headed out. Upon going to the front desk, they tell us we need to sign the credit card slip paying for our room. We told them that we had already paid through Expedia, and therefore did not understand why we needed to separately pay through credit card. It turned out that after we had taken the room, someone (Victor? The management, AJ?) had created a separate new reservation under my boyfriend's name and marked my Expedia reservation as "no show." Moreover, they claimed that there actually had been a King bed room available the night before that they did not rent out because we had booked the room on Expedia. As a result, they said that we needed to pay for 2 rooms, even though we only stayed in one. They accused my boyfriend and me of holding 2 rooms on purpose, and that we had made both reservations in advance.

Now I don't know the reason why management would do this -- perhaps they are covering up for the mistake that their clerk made in entering a second reservation, or the fact that they gave away the wrong room, or perhaps they regularly defraud their customers. Whatever the reason, they were actively obstructing attempts by me to prove the truth of what had happened the evening before, and at the end of the day, it is simply extremely poor customer service.
• I asked to see the time stamp of the reservation under my boyfriend's name, to prove that we had checked in before the reservation was created. The manager said that his "systems were updating" and would likely take hours, conveniently for him. Therefore, he could not find the time stamp.
• They claimed that Victor could not have possibly made the reservation manually in the computer, that the system does not allow this. Upon looking at the reservation print-out, however, clearly the reservation was made manually because it had multiple typos in the name and address -- the result of someone who could not read my boyfriend's handwriting as he or she entered the reservation.

As we were at the front desk arguing our case, another woman who was having breakfast stopped by and said she had similar problems with the management while at check-in the night before. This type of hotel management and customer service is completely unacceptable for a reputable establishment like Ramada. Beware!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank essio12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 730 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Joan Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ramada name but not Ramada standards

There was no soap or shampoo left in the room so we had to get it from the front desk.

The towels are thin and even one of the wash clothes had threads hanging off of it because it was coming apart.

The sheets are EXTREMELY thin. For awhile I had only the top sheet over me and it felt like I didn’t have any cover at all. During the night the bed sheets came loose and bunched-up which made it uncomfortable to sleep on.

The air-conditioner went off during the night and I couldn’t get it to come back on. There is a thermostat on the wall but apparently that doesn’t work any more so you have to control the air from the unit that fits through the wall and so it was too hot all night.

Could easily hear the people walking up stairs.

There is a big crack between the entry door and the wall and you can see the light of day coming in through the crack/gap.

There was ‘Direct TV’ which had a zillion channels but I don’t speak Spanish (there goes many channels) and I don’t watch info-mercials. I wanted to watch the news but for some reason I couldn’t find a news channel.

In the morning around 9:00 am I went up to the front desk area to get some of the continental breakfast but there wasn’t anything left. Either they don’t replenish it or they are slow about doing so.

The one nice feature is that there is a small refrigerator and microwave in the room.

I will find a different hotel next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank misplaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
362 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#22 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
377 reviews
3.2 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Address: 1000 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $58 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing