We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A motel that knows their guests” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A motel that knows their guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo weeks at a time since March 2010. While there I've noticed that they go out of their way to make sure their guests are comfortable and have everything they need. I have a favorite room that I request each time I book a week's stay - I always get that room. That level of service is remarkable. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo to anyone visiting the area for whatever reason. You will be glad you paid them a visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard-Clark-Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    142
    72
    31
    9
See reviews for
141
96
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I had planned a 10 day california trip with my family in July. i had carefully planned the trip and made all reservations in advance. We started in LA and drove up the coast and had confirmed reservations at the Holiday Inn Express this busy saturday night.

it looked like every hotel we saw was "no vacancy". we had 2 adults and 4 teens so we had reserved 2 rooms with 2 double beds each at the this holiday inn.

we arrived that evening . we had made the resevation through a mastercard rewards program and had our reservations confirmations in hand when we went to check in.

the desk manager indicated that he had one room with one queen bed reserved for us, we showed him the confirmed reservations that clearly stated we had reserved 2 rooms with 2 doubles each and he said those don't matter and he had no record of them except one room with one queen bed. we explained that we had six people and reservations for 2 rooms.

he repeatedly said he would do anything to help us. i asked him to get us two rooms, he replied he could not do that. i asked him to find a room somewhere else , he said everyone was sold out and he could not do that. i asked him to give me a refund since my room was paid with credit card and points and they had been charged weeks before. he said he could not do that.

at that point we left and pulled out our AAA tour guide and started dialing every hotel in the area. after about 15 calls, we finally got a vacancy and did get 2 rooms at a beautiful bed and breakfast.. but it cost more than double our reserved rooms.

we had no choice but to take the rooms and pay the higher rate since now it was almost 10pm and we had four tired teens in the car.

this hotel is either incompetant or dishonest (it was a busy night and they gave away our rooms and charged a higher rate).

upon my return, it took me several hours of emails, faxes and phone calls over 2 months to get my money back.

the holiday inn gave us a partial refund that did not cover the cost that we actually incurred. so i lost money on this having done nothing wrong. if they had given me full credit for my cost, i wouldn't be writing this review. So for a lousy hundred bucks or so that they couldnt compensate me, they deserve this.

we never got an apology from holiday inn either.

this was the only problem we had on our 10 day trip. every other reservation at westin, sheraton, w hotels, etc was honored as well as airfare, car rental,and amusements.

that was our odyssey with this holiday inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank RI_Travel_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Myself, along with seven of my colleagues have stayed at the San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn Express for over 4 weeks. Joel the General Manager has been most helpful in finding enough accomendations for our stay at a competitive price. I had never been in the beautiful town of San Luis Obispo before, but from day one the front desk staff was informative concerning attractions and restaurants. It reached the point where at the end of a long work day, we would return to the hotel and visit with the front desk staff as if we have been long time friends. I have recomended this hotel to friends, and will continue to do so. I had checked out several area hotels, but I feel you get more bang for your buck here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlweekley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

I have used this hotel in the past , and have enjoyed my stay, but this trip was special! As a first night stay of a week long camping trip with my kids , Jennifer 13, and Andrew 11, I knew that we could enjoy a clean, peaceful, place as a starting point for our trip, and that was exactly what we got!,The front desk staff was very pleasent and helpful The complementary breakfast was a wonderful bonus! As we were about to check out my car experienced a broken gear shifter, within 2 minutes, GM Joel Koper was on scene to help, after viewing my problem, he asked me about a tow truck, and if I knew a mechanic?, which I did not!,(we live in San Diego) he offered assistance for both! that, to me, was far and above a hotel gm's job, so as the day progressed , Mr. Koper was there for us, any questions, or concerns, . So as week progressed the staff was aware of our situation and absolutly top notch! I will definitly stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo again, as well as recomend them to all my friends and co-workers.
In closing, Mr Koper and his staff , in my view, need to reconized for their actions, they made "my nightmare" livable , and for that, me and my kids owe them a great deal of graditude!
Thanks You, yours truly
Doug, Jennifer, and Andrew Johnson

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvdj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff really go out of their way to see you are happy. We had a problem that was my error in making the reservation. They could not have been nicer in resolving it. The location is close to downtown and the facility is very clean and nicely decorated. Lastly, the food at breakfast was very good. Many times these hotel breakfasts are quantity not quality but the food was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debrab661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at this property for one night while on a road trip from SF to Santa Barbara. From the outside and lobby we had high hopes. While the room was a nice size and clean, upon closer inspection, a bit disappointing. We had a mini-fridge in the room and unloaded our picnic supplies for the rest of the weekend. When packing up in the AM, I noticed that the fridge didn't fit into the cut-out cabinet and the door would get stuck onto the cabinet door next to it. Plus, it rocked back and forth and you could literally pull it right out of the cabinet (it wasn't very secure). So, all of our fridge items were warm and our freezer packs didn't stay frozen. Very frustrating! The other issue was the bed (and that's a pretty big issue for a hotel room). When we first sat down on it, we noticed how soft the mattress was. Ok, not like ours at home but not a big deal. Well, when it was time for bed, we both basically rolled towards each other in the middle, it was that soft!! You basically had to hug the side of the bed to sleep and avoid rolling around. Mix that in with VERY thin walls and an amorous couple going at it until about 1am, suffice it to say it wasn't the most relaxing night's sleep we've ever had! Next time we're in SLO, we'll probably pick another one of the chain hotels along Monterey Ave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MChiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

The entrance, lobby & breakfast area look very nice & updated, our room did not have the same panache. I appreciate the need to conserve water, yet the flow in the sink faucet was so restricted that it comes across just as being cheap! One isn't able to cup water in hands to wash faces or it takes many minutes to run to get hot water and more minutes to fill the sink to shave. This is really an annoyance. The sink drain was rusty and the cabinetry is painted over & nailed shut for some reason. The bed was very soft - I came close to just sleeping on the floor so my back wouldn't form a "C" as I lay on the mattress. The A/C would not cool unless motion was detected - great so we get to sleep in an oven during the night. The window only opens 3 inches, so we couldn't even take advantage of the cool evening to chill the room down. The ice machine at this HI again was broken, but at least there was a note directing you to other locations. The old TV had NO video inputs (FYI this is where Hyatt Place earned my loyalty!) and they also told me even if inputs were available, they would be blocked so HI can charge for pay-per-view options.

On a positive note, the breakfasts have nice cheesy omelets, pastries, bagels and very good coffee. The location is a very walkable 20 minutes stroll to down town restaurants, mission and theatre. I understand SLO can charge over the odds for hotel rooms, but I wouldn't rate this HI horrible, but average. We previously stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in SLO-it costs more, but is significantly nicer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SE-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing