We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
223
174
82
35
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
174
82
35
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday inn express front desk cal poly hi express upgraded to a suite other hotels beds were comfortable downtown slo stayed here for one night close to downtown we've stayed would stay here again short stay hot breakfast short drive hot tub cookies
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 525 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Was visiting 'SLO' for 5/6 days and wanted a comfortable, close to town centre, convenient & quiet Hotel, at a reasonable price - reasonable or not as expensive as others - not cheap. 'SLO' does not offer 'cheap', over weekends (Fri/Sat) - NB.

Probably 8-10 blocks (uphill too) from main 'Old Town / Quarter' where the Restaurant & Bars are primarily and where we met most evenings, so a bit of a walk - recommended, especially as there was an excellent beer brewery en-route.

Roomy, comfortable, clean, possessed all the normal HIEx facilities (TV, Kettle, fridge & bathroom). Bit of a 'refurb' in progress in April, but it did not affect my stay, other than I found the Breakfast set-up had improved and apparently so too some of their Rooms (I did not inspect).

Breakfasts as per the HIEx formula / recipe. It does and did close at the published time - I was much amused by one chap who took exception to them closing at that time and not serving until it suited him.

No Restaurant or Bar, but as per above - loads within a short walk. Outside pool. ample (free) parking on-site. Easy access road to Hwy 101 just round the corner.

Charming staff affording good level of Customer-centric Service.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

The staff was friendly and allowed us to check in early. The room décor seemed a little strange with the wall behind the bed covered with photos as was part of the ceiling. Our room overlooked the pool which was nice, but a little noisy in the evening. Would stay here again but request a higher room or away from the pool. The free breakfast had many options. Our room had a mini refrigerator but it didn't seem very cold and there was no freezer.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one away from the pool
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BluRavdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

I brought my family to San Luis Obispo for a soccer tournament. We checked in late and were so fortunate to have Hamed take care of us. He gave us better service than I have had at the Ritz Carlton. Absolute, unparalleled service. Thank you Hamed. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank nrusoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Clean hotel, we stayed at the suite on the lower level. Great customer service! It was only lacking a refrigerator. Front desk receptionist provided some great ideas for our visit even though we had not inquired about them.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank emsanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

I like this Inn. We stay there often when we go to SLO. They are trying hard to modernize. It’s clean and comfortable EXCEPT one big problem that we solved. This review is for other guests because the Inn perhaps won’t change this.

The in-wall AC units have newly created wooden decorator boxes over them that basically cut off the AC. When we arrived on a 100 degree day, the room was 76. It took two hours of AC to drop to 74. We completely removed the decorator box and it immediately dropped to the desired temperature of 68.

Not only was the beautification box around the AC not particularly attractive, the vents were on front instead of the top were the unit blows cool air. So the air basically just recirculated around the inside of the box

We told the front desk who took a note. Interesting to see if the ridiculous boxes are still over the AC units when we next stay there. In my experience input in most hotels is met with a shrug.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews