We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average / not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average / not bad”
Reviewed October 12, 2005

This is not a new property, nor was it originally built as a Holiday Inn Express. Newly renovated with clean rooms and common areas. Average quality, but very clean and nothing to be upset about.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jadacyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    151
    78
    32
    9
See reviews for
160
105
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2005

For the price I paid, I expected a little more..... However, the room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Bedding and linens were newer, and in good condition, as was the furniture. It did have some nice amenities such as bathrobes, a small fridge, coffee maker, etc.... There was always plenty of parking available, and the entrance to our room was very easily accessible. If you're looking to spend a lot of time in downtown SLO, or if you're visiting other areas throughout the day - this is a clean and comfortable hotel to stay in. However, if you're looking for a romantic getaway this might not be the place to stay, and don't expect a nice view from your window. Please note: I would not recommend trying to get a room before check-in time (3 p.m.) -I tried to do this and wasted quite a bit of time coming back and being told to try back at another time.

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
9 Thank Nickel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2005

We stayed here overnight, and were not expecting too much from the place. Our room was not ready when we arrived mid-afternoon, so we were directed to the 'Quarterdeck' diner next door. Very nice meal, and has a micro-brewery too, so you can get a real pint! We asked for a high floor, but accepted a mid-floor with king bed, which was clean and very well appointed, with a washing/dressing area separate from the bathroom, and a comfortable settee with table and desk. No problems with noisy aircon - in fact the only noise came from kids playing football in the corridor, and you have to blame the idiot parents for that, not the hotel staff! Internet access was free, as was a very good breakfast the next morning. This hotel isn't the Ritz, but excellent value for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Samol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2005

This hotel does not live up to Holiday Inn Express standards. The building looks very nice from the exterior and is centrally located in a good area of town. I also found the lobby area to be nice. However, upon entering my room I found it to be outdated and not very clean. The blankets and bed spread appeared to be very old. There were large stains on the carpet and the furniture showed lots of wear. The A/C unit was 20+ years old and was noisy. This led me to believe that this has not always been a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is in bad need of a renovation. I stayed on busisness and did not pay for my room so I blew it off. As I checked in at the front desk, a clerk quoted a man $140 for a room. If I had paid $140 out of my pocket I would have been irate! If you can book it for less than $70 or so...I would CONSIDER. Otherwise don't waste your time.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank rjp6902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 21, 2005

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo during our vacation in October. The hotel's location was convenient and close to downtown. There was even a trolley stop in front of the hotel that whisked us to the Farmer's Market. We loved the bathrobes that were provided in the rooms and the wonderful breakfast each morning. The staff could not have been more helpful and made us feel like they appreciated our business. We have stayed at many newer Holiday Inn Express hotels, but this one was one of our favorites. My only complaint was some parking lot noise our first night.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2004

My husband and I recently did the drive up 1/101 and chose SLO as a stopping point. We found this hotel to be perfect for our needs. Friendly and efficient staff, sparkling clean room with a couple of bonuses (extra sink outside the main bath, light terry robes) that we didn't expect. The hot tub and pool were great after a long day in the car and also very clean. A good selection for our continental breakfast. We were quite pleased and would definitely recommend this hotel!

Helpful?
4 Thank GaMdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2004

Stayed here on 17th August 2004. I have to pretty much concur with the previous review. There was definately a smell in the guest rooms, I thought it was the airconditioning. We changed our first room because of the smell and ants in the bathroom, but the second room still had the smell, although slightly better and no ants! It was an old hotel that had been partially renovated. The room itself had new carpet, curtains, bedcovers and the furniture was in good order. We were comfortabe enough and the linens on the beds were good quality as were the towels in the bathroom. The pool area was fine and the free breakfast was good also. All in all, we had a reasonable stay, but I would probably choose a newer hotel next time we're in the area (if there is one). Loved San Luis Obispo and can recommend eating at Hudson's Bar and Grill on Monterey Street, Downtown SLO.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing