We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff and great for traveling with the Dog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff and great for traveling with the Dog”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've stayed here several times with our dog Max. They recently remodeled the rooms and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is fantastic. They really make you feel welcomed, especially when traveling with your pooch!

We stayed in room 112 which was convenient to the exit to walk the dog, but a bit noisy since its near the ice machine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandMHWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear JandMHWD,

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo. I am so glad to hear you and Max had a nice time in our newly remodeled rooms! I am sorry to hear about the noise you had experienced. Next time you are here with us, we will try to get you a little further away from the vending area.
Again, many thanks. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Amy Swink
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    151
    78
    32
    9
See reviews for
159
105
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Imperial, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is older and small, but staff were very helpful.
Rooms are older, but clean and well maintained.
Hotel is in need of a remodel in the NEAR future.
Very close to Downtown SLO
Trolley stops just in front of the hotel to take you downtown.
A little Steep in pricing for what you get.
Would RX Ebassy suites of Comfort Suites first if available

Room Tip: The rooms are all close to the Elevator and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. Not sure when you stayed with us be we just completed a renovation/refresh of all our guests’ rooms. They all have new beds, furniture, wall vinyl, art, as well as brand new bathrooms. We are very excited about the new look of our rooms and know that you will be. We hope we get a chance again to show you all the changes.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The staff is exceptionally good. It is very well-managed property and a great place to stay if you are in town for business. My only complaint is their coffee. It is of poor qualify. A hotel of its caliber should be serving Starbucks or Peet's.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us and for your comments regarding our coffee. We are actually looking into switching it soon. We want to provide our guests with the best of amenities and coffee is right there at the top of the list. We hope to see you again soon and hopefully we can provide you with a new coffee to enjoy.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is very nice-newly renovated, very clean and in a great location. Rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. Staff very friendly! Cookies were at the front desk which was a nice treat! The breakfast was good with a variety of cereals, breads, eggs etc.
I was really impressed with this hotel and would stay in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors as the bottom floors are used for pet friendly rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatandAnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your “Great Night!” review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We will have fresh baked cookies ready for your return trip. We hope to see you again soon.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I checked in early around 2:30 in the afternoon. The front desk clerk was very helpful and courtesy. He told me he only had 2 rooms available. So I took the first room he offered which was room 101. I booked the room for 2 nights. He failed to tell me that it was the one of the worst rooms to stay in at the hotel Everything was great until about 5am when guest started using the elevator. Once the elevator became active, the entire room vibrates and rattles.
I felt this is definitely something the front desk clerk should have mentioned. There is no way no one has never complained about this before. I felt he should have mentioned at the price of $138 per night. The following night I mentioned the issue with desk clerk (Ashley). She was very much aware of the issue offered to decrease my nightly stay. I agreed because I didn't want to have to move my items to another room. Room was nice, Noise was horrible. Hospitality was helpful..

Room Tip: Do not allow them to assiign a room near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jarrod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo, thank you for completing our survey. We truly appreciate your feedback. It will help us improve.
We are sorry to hear about the noise issue you experienced with your room. I am glad our staff was helpful and responsive to you. I will definitely take a look at this room and determine if something can be corrected so no other guests have the same experience. We appreciate feedback from guests like yourself and apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.
I hope we get the chance to have you as our guest again. Please feel free to reach out to me personally to discuss your stay. I look forward to hearing from you.

James Davison
General Manager
805-544-8600
jdavison@hisanluisobispo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-sea
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Probably the best Holiday Express Inn we have used whilst touring in California. Excellent welcome from all reception staff but especially Alex who should be awarded 'employee of the month' status for her immediate help and assistance in finding First Aid supplies for a minor injury. The hotel has been refurbished and the quality of the furnishings, decoration and furniture was exceptionally good. The beds were very comfortable and the choice of firm or soft pillows was a great idea. Everything was spotlessly clean. Elevator access to all floors. Breakfast included crispy bacon and cheese omelettes which made a nice change. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepeingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your "Exceptionally Good" review. From all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express, we truly appreciate your time to review us. I will let Alex know of her unofficial status of employee of the month. She will be very happy to hear about this review. We look forward to having you as our guest again in our newly renovated rooms.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

ok, It is a Holiday Inn Express, Why the almost $400 per night per room? Price gouging to the extreme! Normally this place is a $129 a night. This " family chain" takes advantage of a family event. Never again!

Room Tip: Very noisy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio_VI_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us. We appreciate and learn from each of our guests. We understand your concern about our rates on certain high-demand weekends. Cal Poly graduation weekend is one of those weekends and our rates are actually lower than most of the hotels in this area. We pride ourselves in offering competitive prices and giving our guests the best value. I hope we get the opportunity to have you as a guest again in our newly renovated rooms. Please feel free to reach out to me personally to discuss your stay with us. Thank you.

James Davison
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express-San Luis Obispo
805-544-8600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing