We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs & Bad Management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed Bugs & Bad Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Yes, bed bugs. We never knew what a bed bug was until we stayed here, so we were quite naive and shocked, but now we're educated. We started itching during our 3-day stay in October 2013 and then we assume they hitched a ride home in our luggage. We started seeing bite marks accumulate, did some research, and called in an exterminator immediately. After spraying, we found a few dead ones to confirm it. We've been in our house for 18 yrs and our bedroom was remodeled a year ago. We had not traveled for a few months prior, so this Holiday Inn is the most likely and logical source, but of course this can't be proved without the hotel admitting it. Let me tell you it's a pain washing all your clothes, clearing out all your drawers and putting special covers over your mattress and box springs, but we solved it the first time. Apparently it's not always that successful.

Now for the bad management story. First off, we were late arrivals so we called in advance TWICE on the drive to confirm our 2-Queen room. The manager Joel reassured us all was good, but when we got there around midnight our room was sold to someone else. We found out later it was Joel who did that. Strike 1. It took 30 minutes to find an available room after rejecting a dirty small room smelling of smoke that was not typically rented. We eventually got into a King room after an hour of monkeying around - that's a long time at midnight after a 5 hr drive. Strike 2. The clerk promised that his manager (Joel) would compensate us somehow. We never heard from him and we were too busy with Parent's night at CalPoly to track him down.

We called the hotel to report the bed bug problem as soon as we figured it out. We called back once we confirmed it with dead bugs after spraying our house. Joel was extremely apologetic, but would not admit or confirm anything. He said their pest control company inspected the room but didn't find anything. Not sure if they sprayed or not, but our pest company didn't find anything either until after the spray killed them. They hide very well.

Joel repeatedly apologized for our bad experience and asked what he could do to make us feel "whole" (without actually admitting to having bed bugs of course). I asked for a partial refund and payment for the cost to spray our house. He offered a free night's stay to come back and feel comfortable. My wife flinched at that, but I eventually accepted his offer and apologies as the best he could do. He said he wanted to meet us in person when we come back and he would email us a voucher in the next few days. Well, it's now been almost 2 weeks and no follow up. Strike 3. The odds of getting bed bugs again are pretty low, but we would have trouble sleeping there ever again. We were going to give the fee voucher away to someone willing to risk it. But now we don't even have that symbolic gesture. Need I write more?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hi Mark S,

We are most disappointed and concerned to read your comments. We would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that we can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    147
    75
    31
    9
See reviews for
152
99
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Isabella, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were meeting friends who were staying just down the street in a non-pet friendly hotel. We found Holiday Inn Express through Bring Fido.com. Nice enough hotel, no frills but clean and quiet. It's nice to find lodging that welcomes our furry companions!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakemoosecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Lakemoosecap,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel nice, clean and quiet. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Older facility that has been somewhat updated. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. But—we did not have hot water. The maintenance man tried to adjust the shower, but it was terribly inadequate.

The other major problem was the elevator. We were next to it and the noise came through any time someone used it. The rooms were furnished in older fashion, especially the lamps, and had a musty smell.

The staff was especially good with a friendly and helpful attitude and is the reason for the second star. The internet connection was fast and surprisingly strong, especially considering this is not a new construction.

The location is a little difficult but is in an area of other hotels and several convenient restaurants. We even got a 10% coupon for the pub across the street—and it was a good place for a casual meal.

Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express fare.

All told, Holiday Inn needs to give up on this facility but keep the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Dixie M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you liked the quality of our room accommodation, friendly and helpful staff and reliable internet connection. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to the maintenance issues and noise of our elevator. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice & big. We had a single queen room. Everything in the room was clean. Breakfast was ok... Breads & muffins were a bit dry. Staff was friendly. Location to 101, Cal Poly, & downtown was great.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajdj0486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was in San Luis Obispo for Cal Poly's Parent/Family Weekend and stayed overnight at this property. The hotel is easy to find as it is conveniently located off Highway 101. My sister and I arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon and received a hearty welcome from the two front desk staffers. Room check-in was quick and we each received a gift bag containing a bottle of water and snacks (I'm a Priority Rewards member). Our room was clean and attractive (as is the entire hotel). However, I was a wee bit disappointed there wasn't a microwave oven in the room, as I like to bring coffee (great!) and a cinnamon roll back to the room after the next morning's free breakfast and warm the pastry up with butter in the microwave-- YUM! I have found, in the many HIEs I've stayed, that some will have a microwave oven in the room and others won't-- I wonder how the chain makes that determination? In my opinion, it's always a plus when there is a microwave in the room for quick and convenient food heat ups. Holiday Inn Express is my choice of hotel anytime I travel and I will become very familiar with this property over the next few years, as my nephew plays on the Cal Poly football team--Go Mustangs!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepinitrealincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This isn't the best HIE I've stayed in, but not the worst, either. It's overpriced, but so is everything in SLO, so it's probably not too bad a deal for the money. SLO is a great town; get out of the room and enjoy it! The breakfast bar was very good, there were warm cookies in the evening and the quality of the staff was way above the level of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear L. B,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is encouraging to know you appreciate the breakfast and the service you received from our staff. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed here during our trip sight-seeing along the coast. We particularly enjoyed the clean, newly renovated rooms, the delicious breakfast (with eggs and bacon!), and good service. Food was refreshed frequently at the breakfast bar and the front desk was pleasant when we checked in. Beds were comfy too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing